Irish Chicken and Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made this for my family and, surprisingly, they all enjoyed it. I made a few changes though...I sauteed the leeks and onions in 1/2 a stick of butter. In a separate pot, I added an egg with the chicken stock and heated until thickened. Then I added the leeks & onions to it. I cut up the ham slices and layered it along with the cubed chicken and the leek mixture. Instead of using pie crust, I used puff pastry and just laid it across the top of the casserole. I turned the heat up to 375 degrees F. Next time I think I'll try making this in a 9x13 and covering the entire top with puff pastry so that each serving has its own little piece of puff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I am a food service director at a retirement facility & we made this recipe for our Men's Luncheon today. We did tighten the filling up as some readers suggested. We baked this as individual pies and used puff pastry to top them instead of pie crust. All 26 men loved this dish & have requested that we have it again. Someone suggested using egg in the sauce to tighten it & I would like to try that as I think it would also add some additional richness. Good flavors & an interesting mix w/ the chicken & ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I haven't tried this yet but plan to. I will, however, lightly saute the onions and leeks in 2 tbsps of butter or marg and add 2 tbsps of flour. Let the flour cook for a couple minutes and then add the stock. This should help with the soupiness others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I can't rate this recipe because I haven't made it yet. But I do see why the other reviewers are saying it was runny. This is basically a quiche recipe without the eggs or cheese. There's too much chicken stock so the heavy cream doesn't have a chance to thicken or set. My suggestion would be to cut down on the chicken stock a bit and add an egg to the cream and stock mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this recipe without reading any reviews. The flavor was wonderful, but it definately needs thickening, I plan to decrease the broth and mix it with a roux next time I make it. Making the recipe the way it is posted, you end up wasting all the cream as it just runs off. I expect I will give it 5 stars when after trying again modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yes, three stars sums it up. I think something has been left out of this recipe. When you pour the cream in, it just makes the insides float. However, the taste is very good. I thought it was very savoury. However, I wouldn't make it again unless I figured out how to make it thicker. I guess adding cornstarch at some point would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
It was pretty good. My husband went back for seconds, which is a good sign. I would however, cut back on the number of leeks, and lengthen the cooking time by about 5 to 10 minutes. It was rather soupy, so I might cut back on the the heavy cream by half as well. The flavor was good, but four leeks way over-powered the taste of the dish. I will try it again, but with the tweaks I suggested. Erin go bragh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I think this recipe has great potential. Wish I had read the reviews first -- but instead I made it for a company potluck on St. Paddy's Day without reading them. My Mistake. The other reviewers have it right! I made a roux with the liquids I poured off and served it as a sauce over the remainder and it was quite good. I made it in an Oval stoneware dish and there was way way more than 6 servings with the ingredients it called for. I had leftovers that just wouldn't fit. Could easily do two pie pans. I like the whole shredded chicken approach mixing dark and light meat for flavors. I would definitely cut back to 2 leeks medium size and don't cut into the green at all. Sauteing in a little butter before hand with the onion also (cut back on that a bit too...) would render the whole pie a bit easier to fit in the dishes. Adding some other veg - peas/carrots even a pt of potato might work to help thicken the liquids. Someone mentioned flouring the chicken first - Depending on your chicken prep that would be good too. I think a Tbs or two dusted over would be enough to skip a prepared roux. You'll have butter from the sautee-ing but definitely cut back on the liquids. I'd say 1/2c of chicken broth and 1/2 c cream - added up front not after baking might do it - and then prepare a sauce with remaining liquids with a roux... just in case! Also the puff pastry sounds like a nice alternative. But even a pre-made crust will do. I just prefer making my own. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RReedd20

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I make this often with different variations depending what's in the pantry and EVERY time it's a winner. A tin of sweet corn (reduce the stock) works - etc. FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
the leek flavor overpowered this dish. and thats with adding way less leeks than said. it was like chicken soup with a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States