Irish Chicken and Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this recipe without reading any reviews. The flavor was wonderful, but it definately needs thickening, I plan to decrease the broth and mix it with a roux next time I make it. Making the recipe the way it is posted, you end up wasting all the cream as it just runs off. I expect I will give it 5 stars when after trying again modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Hi. I have not made this, but I am looking forward to it. (It'd be nice to be able to leave a comment without rating...) Here's a helpful hint to combat the runniness and keep the rich flavor: Try adding a half cup of finely ground almonds, as in the Medieval Chicken Pie recipe. The Irish Chicken and Leek Pie calls for more liquid than the Medieval pie, but the Medieval pie is almost solid-through after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yes, three stars sums it up. I think something has been left out of this recipe. When you pour the cream in, it just makes the insides float. However, the taste is very good. I thought it was very savoury. However, I wouldn't make it again unless I figured out how to make it thicker. I guess adding cornstarch at some point would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I didn't like this recipe at all. I thought that it was way too runny and all you could taste was the leeks, in spite of the fact that I cut them down by half. It was also too runny for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I am a food service director at a retirement facility & we made this recipe for our Men's Luncheon today. We did tighten the filling up as some readers suggested. We baked this as individual pies and used puff pastry to top them instead of pie crust. All 26 men loved this dish & have requested that we have it again. Someone suggested using egg in the sauce to tighten it & I would like to try that as I think it would also add some additional richness. Good flavors & an interesting mix w/ the chicken & ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I can't rate this recipe because I haven't made it yet. But I do see why the other reviewers are saying it was runny. This is basically a quiche recipe without the eggs or cheese. There's too much chicken stock so the heavy cream doesn't have a chance to thicken or set. My suggestion would be to cut down on the chicken stock a bit and add an egg to the cream and stock mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I haven't tried this yet but plan to. I will, however, lightly saute the onions and leeks in 2 tbsps of butter or marg and add 2 tbsps of flour. Let the flour cook for a couple minutes and then add the stock. This should help with the soupiness others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Flavors were pretty good, but came out VERY runny. Maybe I did something wrong...but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover ham and tried this one out. Although my family liked it, it was very runny. Next time I make it I will be sure to serve rolls to "sop" up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious! Thank you Amanda for sharing your fathers recipe with everyone. Best chicken pie I have ever tasted. Loved the contasting flavours of the ham and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States