Irish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AllyMC
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely love it!!! I made two changes: I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little spicy kick, I used 3 cans d condensed chicken soup and I used 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I used canned biscuits instead of mix due to lack of ingredients, but otherwise, I didn't make any other changes aside from substituting chicken broth for 2 cups of water and adding a little extra season per my taste. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Decent recipe.. started to follow instruction but then quit after it looked like too much carrots, potatoes, etc for my taste. It was bland, so I added a little of what a few people had mentioned, some garlic, oregano, lemon juice gave it some zing.... I handmade the dumpling according to somebodys post on here, but they didn't rise, so I take it the recipe for that was screwed up. Too me the soup tasted like a pot pie only liquidy, it was ok... but I wouldn't make again probably
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I loved this dish, but I didn't use Bisquick to make my dumpings. I made my own from scratch which I prefer as I find Bisquick to be a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I am not sure what makes this "Irish." Is it the Bisquick or the Cream of Chicken Soup? I made this for St. Patrick's Day based on the "Irish" part of the title. This food was really not good at all. To each his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Turned out wonderful! I used less dumpling mixture as suggested ( 2 cups mix with 2/3 cup milk ) and it was the perfect amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I grew up with a much simpler chicken and dumplings recipe (just cooked chicken over rice) but married a man who was not a big fan of chicken. I looked for something a bit different that he might like better and this was it! Wow, it's delicious. It's like a peppery chicken stew over rice with dumplings, you can't get much better than that. I cook it as is but add 8oz green chilies to mine and then serve it over 1-1.5 cups of rice. I can't say anything about the dumpling portion of this recipe though because I always use our own family's recipe for that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My whole family loved it. It was very filling!! The dumplings did end up spreading out so that the top looked like crust but it was almost like eating a pot pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Family cleaned the pot. I had to adjust cooking time because of increase portion size! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This,was pretty good. I added a few items based on others reviews: one more can of cream of celery, one tsp of lemon pepper, 2 bouillon cubes and. 3 tsps of lemon juice. I only used 2 cups of bisquick with one cup of milk and an added tsp of garlic salt. It was more than enough dumplings. Nice Sunday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States