Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as described and it was delicious and so simple. I've made it a few more times, and doubled it as well. And, like another reviewer mentioned, when doubling the recipe, about 1 3/4 cups milk is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara t.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I wish there were more stars! We loved this. I made them green for St. Patty's, but I think we found a new way to make smashed taters FOREVER. I added a few tablespoons of creamcheese, but other than that, followed the recipe excactly. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this for our St. Patrick's Day meal to go along with Beef and Irish Stout Stew (from this site) and Irish Soda Bread V (again from this site. It was such a good accompaniment to the meal - almost good enough to take center stage! I made it exactly how it read and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Makes a nice, creamy mashed potato. I doubled the recipe because I needed more than what the recipe called for. I also added quite a bit more salt and pepper (it was kind of bland tasting if you only put a pinch of each in the dish) and I threw in two sticks of butter total. It came out very buttery and creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made this for St. Patty's day dinner. I used instant mash potatos to save some time and it tasted great. Husband like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yummy, this was really good. I used skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a classic irish champ recipe. Half my family is irish and it tasted just like any champ i've ever had. I think it's important for people to remember when they make these recipes, that classic irish fare usually consists of basic, and usually very inexpensive ingredients. It's not supposed to come out tasting like something you ordered at a 5 star resturant... it's pub food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is so delicious! My husband is from Co. Monaghan Ireland and I made this for his family. His mom hadn't made it in years since her kids are grown now and she doesn't have anyone to cook for, but she thoroughly enjoyed it. I generally use about half as many green onions as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It's the real stuff! (I'm Irish). Make a depression in the top and add a chunk of butter. You could put grated cheese on top and grill (broil) and crumble crispy bacon over it. It's not champ any more but its nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe was great for my husband and myself but our 5 kids werent overly excited about it....I made this the 2nd time with only half the onion, a clove of Garlic and a cup of sour cream, it was a hit!...family has asked for it to be served over the Holidays......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States