Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Very creamy. Next time I would reduce the milk slightly, maybe to 3/4 cup. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My family is Irish and I've been making my grandmother's Champ recipe for years. It's my 14 year old's favorite dish. He loves it with corned beef. The only difference in my grandma's recipe is that she uses cream instead of milk. I noticed that a few people said it was missing something... the cream will make it richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Made as posted but I was curious about adding the eggs so I did. It's hard to rate "mashed potatos" 5 stars but these were really good. I don't know if the egg made any difference. Beats plain old mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made Irish Champ for my family countless times (being Irish). The dish is always well liked and always empty at the end of the meal. I remember my grandmother making this with a raw egg (as another reviewer mentioned). I don't use one only because I am sensitive to food poisoning. But I think that the dish tastes great without it. This recipe is simple to make and good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Born in your native city of Belfast I grew up on Champ. One one thing missing from this recipe which would make it an "authentic" champ is the addition of one or two raw eggs mixed into the mash along with the milk,butter and scallions. Without that it is just mashed potatoe with milk , butter and scallions. Try the REAL Belfast champ by adding raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as described and it was delicious and so simple. I've made it a few more times, and doubled it as well. And, like another reviewer mentioned, when doubling the recipe, about 1 3/4 cups milk is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara t.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I wish there were more stars! We loved this. I made them green for St. Patty's, but I think we found a new way to make smashed taters FOREVER. I added a few tablespoons of creamcheese, but other than that, followed the recipe excactly. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this for our St. Patrick's Day meal to go along with Beef and Irish Stout Stew (from this site) and Irish Soda Bread V (again from this site. It was such a good accompaniment to the meal - almost good enough to take center stage! I made it exactly how it read and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plainoctoberjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Makes a nice, creamy mashed potato. I doubled the recipe because I needed more than what the recipe called for. I also added quite a bit more salt and pepper (it was kind of bland tasting if you only put a pinch of each in the dish) and I threw in two sticks of butter total. It came out very buttery and creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made this for St. Patty's day dinner. I used instant mash potatos to save some time and it tasted great. Husband like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States