Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wonderful recipe! We've been making the Guinness Corned Beef recipe from this site for years and finally decided to add a different side to it besides carrots and boiled potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly as given and it was perfect. We added just one bunch of green onion as the recipe calls for and didn't think it was too much at all. After reading the previous reviews I was wondering if others had added the whole rubber band wrapped amount sold in the grocery store instead. I think if I had added that much it would be way too much. I did add some green food coloring for St. Patrick's Day as someone else suggested and it added a nice touch and added some great color to the plates. Thanks for the keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Amazing so easy so so good. We will keep this and rotate into monthly side dishes. I made two tiny changes I had some half and half so I used that in place of the milk. I also was very busy while making this so I left the skins on the potatoes and mashed them in. Extra vitamins and good texture. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Easy to make, and very filling. But lacks something in flavor. Not really sure how to fix it though and it still be authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious, Wonderful, Fabulous, I don't have to say anymore! I used light cream instead of milk. Will make this often, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love this recipe for Champ...being 50% Irish & 50% polish I grew up eating a lot of potatoes and cabbage. Plain old mashed potatoes just don't cut it after this...of course if you want to change things up a little you can always make Colcannon...my other favorite potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have made this all my life, I didn't know that it had a name or it actually would ever have a written recipe. It is one of my comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoal Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Been making tis for years. To do a "quicker" way, use powered potatoes, and heat the scallions in the milk/water mixture befoe adding the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good recipe for Champ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was very good. I doubled the butter and added some bacon. Almost as good as colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I don't like green onions, but following the general recipe (I probably put less onions than called for), I made something that I can stand to taste green onions in. Next time I think I may add some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Hobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States