Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought it was only okay. I guess I prefer my mashed potatoes plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I served this last night with Beef and Irish Stout Stew pour over it----just enough of each so that the separate flavors could be enjoyed. My family LOVED the combo!! Yes, you could add sour cream, but this is great just as it is. I didn't add any egg--the idea just didn't appeal to me (Sorry!). For those who said the onion taste was strong---don't you taste as you cook? Add as much or as little as you like. My children grew up with an Executive Chef father. We both made the family meals, and introduced our five to a wide variety of foods. I'm grateful that I never had a problem with "picky eaters" (the random food allergy excepted). I actually had one child that preferred "green" food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Easy and delish! I used red potato's left on the skin and cooked them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Even though this is a simple recipe, it packs some seriously delicious flavor. A few other reviews said it wasn't authentic without the egg, which may be true, but rating this recipe as-is... it is a "champ"! Delicious. I always like to add a little sour cream for creaminess too, but it doesn't have to have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niquisita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were really good! I used 2 1/2 lbs potatoes rather than 2 lbs and was glad I did. With 1 cup of milk I could have probably used 3 lbs to make them a little thicker. Seems like it would be too thin and liquidy with only 2 lbs. Flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is super simple but amazing in taste and texture. Just made it for the St. Patty's Day dinner and it was amazing! Thanks so much, I will definitely be serving this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Easy and so tasty! I'm rather famous for my mashed potatoes and was afraid my kids wouldn't like something new, but they LOVED it! A new favorite to add to our traditional St. Patty's meal along with Irish Brown Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
If I were paying attention to measurements, this would have been perfect. The flavors were great. I used too much milk so it was runny. So I created a less than traditional Irish dish by putting it in a casserole dish with some grated cheddar and tossed it in the oven. It worked out well so I still gave the recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB in HS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
A keeper recipe for any day. I used soy milk and it turned out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was good. I sauted the onion in the butter and then added the milk to warm and incorporate the onion taste in the potatoes. We did add eggs. Stirred them in at the end- constant stirring - turned out perfectly. Served this with a pork roast that we cooked on the stove-top. Good stuff. Won't make it often but will make it often enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States