Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious. I reduced the amount of green onions too due to other reviews and the fact that my kids would probably hesitate to eat it. I served it with Beef and Irish Stout Stew from this site. Thanks for sharing this recipe Ita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
YUMMY, YUMMU, YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by norma
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Good! I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absoulutely authentic as is, no additions no subtractions, this is what we grew up with in Ulster. It's hard to find the right textured potatoes in North America, but those which have a "floury" texture are the best. If you can't find those, go with what you've got. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison McConaghy Philpott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought it was only okay. I guess I prefer my mashed potatoes plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I served this last night with Beef and Irish Stout Stew pour over it----just enough of each so that the separate flavors could be enjoyed. My family LOVED the combo!! Yes, you could add sour cream, but this is great just as it is. I didn't add any egg--the idea just didn't appeal to me (Sorry!). For those who said the onion taste was strong---don't you taste as you cook? Add as much or as little as you like. My children grew up with an Executive Chef father. We both made the family meals, and introduced our five to a wide variety of foods. I'm grateful that I never had a problem with "picky eaters" (the random food allergy excepted). I actually had one child that preferred "green" food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Easy and delish! I used red potato's left on the skin and cooked them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Even though this is a simple recipe, it packs some seriously delicious flavor. A few other reviews said it wasn't authentic without the egg, which may be true, but rating this recipe as-is... it is a "champ"! Delicious. I always like to add a little sour cream for creaminess too, but it doesn't have to have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niquisita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were really good! I used 2 1/2 lbs potatoes rather than 2 lbs and was glad I did. With 1 cup of milk I could have probably used 3 lbs to make them a little thicker. Seems like it would be too thin and liquidy with only 2 lbs. Flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is super simple but amazing in taste and texture. Just made it for the St. Patty's Day dinner and it was amazing! Thanks so much, I will definitely be serving this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States