Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Easy and delish! I used red potato's left on the skin and cooked them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Even though this is a simple recipe, it packs some seriously delicious flavor. A few other reviews said it wasn't authentic without the egg, which may be true, but rating this recipe as-is... it is a "champ"! Delicious. I always like to add a little sour cream for creaminess too, but it doesn't have to have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niquisita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were really good! I used 2 1/2 lbs potatoes rather than 2 lbs and was glad I did. With 1 cup of milk I could have probably used 3 lbs to make them a little thicker. Seems like it would be too thin and liquidy with only 2 lbs. Flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is super simple but amazing in taste and texture. Just made it for the St. Patty's Day dinner and it was amazing! Thanks so much, I will definitely be serving this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Easy and so tasty! I'm rather famous for my mashed potatoes and was afraid my kids wouldn't like something new, but they LOVED it! A new favorite to add to our traditional St. Patty's meal along with Irish Brown Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
If I were paying attention to measurements, this would have been perfect. The flavors were great. I used too much milk so it was runny. So I created a less than traditional Irish dish by putting it in a casserole dish with some grated cheddar and tossed it in the oven. It worked out well so I still gave the recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB in HS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
A keeper recipe for any day. I used soy milk and it turned out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was good. I sauted the onion in the butter and then added the milk to warm and incorporate the onion taste in the potatoes. We did add eggs. Stirred them in at the end- constant stirring - turned out perfectly. Served this with a pork roast that we cooked on the stove-top. Good stuff. Won't make it often but will make it often enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Thank you for sharing. This recipe is very simple and delicious. The green onions give the potatoes a wonderful flavor. My family really enjoyed this and I will be making it again very soon. Also, I thought this would be a perfect topping for Shepherd's Pie, which I will try making tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heygoodlookinwhatscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was so delicious served with the Beef and Irish Stout Stew also found on this site. I agree with other reviewers that less milk was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States