Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I never would have thought that just adding scallions to mashed potatoes would make them so delicious! I used gold potatoes and a bit of garlic powder, and did top with more butter before serving. I can see adding a little of what other reviewers suggested as well (cream cheese, sour cream, egg). I'm a little late for St Patty's Day, but this is delicious and has a spring-like taste to it. Thanks for the great recipe, Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have to agree with another reviewer that there really isn't anything original about this. It's just mashed potatoes, after all, with green onion added to it. Nevertheless, Hubs and I enjoyed this as part of our St. Paddy's Day corned beef dinner. I added the green onion to taste rather than the full amount, and used buttermilk instead of milk, basically because I had it to use before we head out of town. Looking forward to a re-do tomorrow night with this evening's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made these for St. Patricks Day and the family all enjoyed. Leftovers were enjoyed the next day, too! Note: I tripled the amount of potatoes (used about 2/3rds of a 10 lb bag) and still only used the 1 C. of milk and 1/2 C. of butter. Plenty moist--I cant imagine how runny they would have been if I had used 3 C of milk! Also, I used about 8-9 stalks of green onion and they had plenty of onion flavor. Really didn't need to add anymore onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was lovely and a different way to have mashed potatoes. Used a little less green onion, and that was perfect for us. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Champ and sausages!, one of my fav dinners :) I love loads of scallions ( green onions ) in mine but have to hold back for the kids. And we all have an extra dollop of butter on top too. I personally don't add the raw eggs that my mum always did as I have a child with an egg allergy but it still tastes good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious! Even my daughter, who can't stand mashed potatoes (the texture kills it for her), ate it and liked it! The onions really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We like mashed potatoes with skins left on, so I made this using “unpeeled” Yukon Gold potatoes. Liked the taste the green onions added to this dish. My DS really liked this recipe much better than the mashed potato recipes I make with cooked cabbage added. In fact, he asked that I make mashed potatoes this way, all the time. It pared very nicely with ‘Brown Sugar Meatloaf’ another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've been making mashed potatoes with green onions and everything else in this recipe for years but I never had a name (or recipe) for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States