Irish Canadian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family loved this stew! I didn't have the turnips, but it turned out great without. Followed the recipe and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbill29
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I was able to use a nice hunk of leftover roast beef for this, which was already seasoned, so I didn't need the additional s&p. Didn't have the turnip, so omitted it, and I also only had Guinness Black Lager on hand, so used that and it turned out great!! This will become my go-to beef stew from now on - better than at the Irish pub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Didn't use veggie stock, used water and a bullion cube (what I had on hand). I used a regular dark lager (also on hand) and put it all in the crockpot on low. Exactly how I like my stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to the stew my Irish mother served in Montreal about once a week. Myself and all of my siblings still make it at least twice a month. Note, when we cook veggies throughout the week, we save the cooking water in a "stew pot" which is kept in the freezer. When the pot is full of veggie stock, it's time to make this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Georgina, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Best Irish stew with Guinness beer I've eaten. I made this for a ski party and it was a hit with everyone. It had rich, hearty taste. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
If you like the taste of dark beer, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Hearty and healthy but oh-so-bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful stew. It is worth the extra trouble of going finding the beer. It has a flavor that only alcohol can do for a dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States