Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
If you are looking for the traditional Irish brown bread, look no further, this is it!!! I have been looking for a recipe for 15 years, since I spent a semester in Dublin - nothing else came close! Thank you for posting!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very dense, rustic bread. The flavor reminded me a little too much of wheat thins crackers, but it is most likely my own fault. I left out the bread flour and used all whole wheat and oats. Next time I will use a little less wheat flour, more oats, and something else... maybe wheat germ or flax seed, maybe some caraway or poppy seed, too. All in all I really enjoyed it, as did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I loved the ease of the recipe. Great authentic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Tasty recipe!!! Try dipping it in honey mixed with guiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I am not exactly what went wrong here but I ended up w/ a hockey puck. I scaled it down to serve 3 so that it only made one loaf and it did not rise at all... I am not sure what went wrong. I am going to try again though b/c it was incredibly quick and for a hockey puck it doesn't taste 1/2 bad :) I really want a nice hearty and dense bread to go w/ a soup that I have so I will give this another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Cooked quicker than the recipe advised, but turned out great! Went well with Irish Stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I make this bread for my Irish man and he loves it!! Says it's just like mum used to make. I sneak in a bit more buttermilk than the recipe calls for, and bake about 5 minutes longer. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
You have no idea how hard I've searched for what I call "Real" Irish Soda Bread . . . with no add ins, simple ingredients, and of course, the x carved into the top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Quick, easy, delicious. I used half barley flour and half unbleached flour. Spread w/ goat cheese and diced onions fresh from the oven... whooowe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe to the "T" and I ended up with an extremely hard crust (Had to use a pizza cutter to cut!) and a not so great tasting bread. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States