Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
ive never had real irish bread but i loved this recipe. i made it exact except i had no bread flour so i used all whole wheat. I would definitely make this again, perhaps into biscuits for easy serving (it was hard to cut) its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Orchard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I think the baking tempo is a bit high for this recipe. the crust was a bit too firm and I baked it for less thime than it required. That said, my son LOVED this and has requested it multiple times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Super easy to make. Flavor is lacking, but would be good with soup. Very thick, moist bread. Not enjoyed by my family, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've never had soda bread, but this is a great recipe for whole wheat bread. I used whole yogurt instead of buttermilk, and it didn't take as long to cook. Delicious! Browned very nicely, with nice crunchy crust. Very moist and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was good right after baking. Next day, it was hard as a rock!. Gave it to the birds. Bottom line..bake it, and eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
5 star recipe!! This recipe is as good as money! We have made it 7 or 8 times! Can not keep it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Heavy, chewy, and moist. I have never had the "real thing" but this is mighty good! Ugly on the outside though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Made this last night and it was so good! All dinner guests loved it and kept saying how good it was. I did use the bread flour - which I think helped a lot (rather than just substituting AP flour for it). I also used 1/2 skim milk with vinegar (buttermilk substitute) and 1/2 fat free plain yogurt. I also adjusted for high altitude and had to add a little more than 3 cups total of milk/yogurt (just FYI for those high altitude bakers out there). I only split it into 2 loaves, and for one of the loafs I also added some caraway seeds and raisins. Baked for 35 min (at 440) on a parchment-lined baking sheet and it was absolutely perfect. Very dense but chewy and hearty. Went perfectly with corned beef and cabbage. Highly recommend if you're looking for a great, not-too-sweet bread accompaniment for your meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COLLEENPHELAN
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe yesterday and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the consistency wasn't as crumbly as Irish bread...might be due to the flour though. I am thinking of getting some Irish flour online and it'll probably be perfect! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEENPHELAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I halved this recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly and it didn't rise at all. The dough was very sticky, not like a normal bread dough. I've never made a soda bread though, so I wasn't sure how moist the dough should be. It still tastes fine, but the texture of the finished bread is off and it can't really be used as sandwich bread. I'm really not sure why it didn't rise, but I doubt I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States