Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
cool chemistry recipe. requires only enough stirring to lightly mix ingredients. nice texture and mild flavor. went great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was raised by an Irishman and never knew there was a whole wheat version of this bread. Smells like whole wheat french bread. Great with butter and honey or split and toasted with garlic butter. I think it will make a great base for creating variations. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IrishMountainGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a very good and traditional Irish Soda Bread recipe. I added 1 cup of raisins and 1 tablespoon caraway seeds as I like my soda bread eatting with breakfast or tea time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I absolutely love this bread. It's the closest I've come to the buttermilk soda bread I had an affair with in Ireland. I ended up dividing the recipe in half as I'm the only one who eats it and since I didn't have bread flour, I just used whole wheat flour for the entire thing. The dough was quite stickey, but it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very good bread. Not quite as coarse grained as the bread in Ireland but still quite tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
It's really easy and quick! Tastes good, too. I substitute the buttermilk with non-fat yogurt, half the flour and add 1/3 cup of rolled oats. To increase the moist, I also add two tablespoons of skim milk. It turns out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I'm eating this hot out of the oven with some cheddar, and it's delicious! Just one thing--wet your hands before the kneading! I got messy b/c I didn't think to do it. It was very quick and easy otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
YUMMY! I love thick, dense, hearty bread and this fit the bill. I followed the recipe to a T (I did brush the tops with butter) and the loaves were cooked perfectly after 30 minutes. I took them to a St. Patty's day party and the bread went perfectly with all the other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is great! Very easy. Just make sure you don't over-knead it or it will get too hard. It is supposed to have a hard crust, very rustic. Yummy. Serve it with the Irish Stew recipe that has the rosemary and parsnips. Tasty combination for St. Patrick's Day. Don't mess with this recipe. Make it as written for an authentic Irish bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
If you are looking for the traditional Irish brown bread, look no further, this is it!!! I have been looking for a recipe for 15 years, since I spent a semester in Dublin - nothing else came close! Thank you for posting!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States