Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Moist and delicious! Just like the bread from Ireland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
wholesome. Be very gentle when mixing dough because it will get hard quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is about the best soda bread I've had outside of southern Ireland! It is so simple yet so flavorsome. I had it with some potato soup for lunch - great comfort food on this grey rainy day. Thanks, Andrea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Great, healthy, non-yeast bread. My husband must be the pickiest person on the planet, but even HE thought it was pretty darn good. I halved the recipe (only 2 of us) and made two small loaves-- will probably only make one larger one next time. Also, check for doneness around the half hour mark-- mine were completely done and would've been dry and burnt if I'd done the full 45 minutes (I did cook them on a pizza stone though, so that might've had something to do with it). I served this with the Cranberry Roast from this website but, really, this bread can go with anything. Serve warm for that special restaurant effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Delicious! We made this for our St. Patrick’s Day feast… and it was my favorite part of the meal! I’ve never had Irish Soda Bread before, so I can’t really compare. But, as far as thick, tasty, dense whole wheat bread goes… this bread is wonderful. I can’t wait to make it again and serve it with soup… or anything, for that matter! Thanks, Andrea, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
What a great bread...I used white flour instead of bread flour because I didn't have the bread flour and it turned out great. I was nervous the dough was too crumbly, but it wasn't. The bread was so good out of the oven with a little butter. I also used low fat buttermilk because that was all the store had and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was wonderful bread and wonderfully forgiving. Everyone loved it, except my three-year-old who couldn't get her teeth through the crust. My dad said it was practically a meal of itself and even my mother, who hates wheat breads, ate two pieces. It set just the right tone for St. Paddy's day. I used low-fat buttermilk and didn't notice any ill effects. If you like soft white bread that disolves instantly than don't bother, but if you like real bread then dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
If you're a fan of whole grain breads, you'll love this one. I made the bread as written to go with a beef stew, except I halved the recipe and substituted a plain yogurt, sour cream and milk mixture for the buttermilk as stated in another review. My bread baked to perfection in 30 minutes. I also made a tasty tea bread by using a 50-50 mix of white and whole wheat flour, adding 1/2 cup of honey, 2 tablespoons of butter, 1 tablespoon of carraway seeds and 1 cup of raisins. Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I needed to add 1/2 cup extra of buttermilk in order to get my dough to stick together. My bread cooked fast too. I am glad that I did not wait the full 30 minutes. Tastes pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Absolutely Delicious. I added 1/2c. of golden raisins to half of the batter per request from my family whom I made it for. Tastes great with cream cheese or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States