Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I need help. I have made several loaves of Irish soda bread; I loved the taste of all of them, but my dough never forms a lightly made soft ball. I have to force it to make a ball at all. I followed the recipe exactly; what am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Good just as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is truly authentic Irish bread. I made it exactly as directed in the recipe and it was great. Delicious with thinly sliced smoked salmon (or even better, lox) and a few capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The baking time is WAY off. At 25 minutes the loaves were over baked. I took them out and covered them with a wet towel to try to keep them from being a brick. Taking it to a St. Patrick's party tonight. Hope they are edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was just like the soda bread I had in Ireland. The other recipes I tried bore absolutely no resemblance to it. I make it every St Patricks Day now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I'm so excited I found this recipe! I moved to Ireland for a while last year and one of my favorite things to do was run to the bakery and pick up a loaf of soda bread. It's been impossible to find it the same way here in the states, even at Irish bakeries, so I was ecstatic! This recipe is almost right on. I'm definitely making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
A good basic bread. The texture is moist and soft even though it is a dense bread. It has a very simple wheaty flavor that is good with blackberry jam. The second time around I added 2 tbsp honey and 2 tsp salt, raisins, and caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Easy to make and came out great! The rolled oats add a nice touch to this hearty bread. Nice crispy crust with a flavor that will not overwhelm your meal. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I divided the mix into two parts, and mixed in a bit of brown sugar and raisins in one loaf. The other loaf was per the recipe. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This did not turn out or look anything like the picture, however i am taking into the consideration that perhaps the baking soda has to be fresher than what i used?? We still ate it, but slathered it in honey and apple butter to cover up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States