Irish Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipie is fabulous. The ingredient list is perfect, I didn't change a thing. My two older neighbors (one German the other Irish) as well as my entire family really liked this quick hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Easy, Healthy, and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Thanks, Julaine, for this great recipe. I was looking to recreate a great meal we had at an Irish pub in Savannah. I made this brown bread as the recipe is written except, instead of shaping the dough into one round loaf, I divided it into thirds and baked it in 3 mini loaf pans (3 1/4 " x 6"). I baked the mini-loaves for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. The crumb of this delicious bread is dense and even, making for beautiful slices. I served it with the "Best Cream of Potato Soup" from this site and got raves from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
So amazing! I just returned from Ireland and I promised my fiance I would find a recipe for the amazing brown bread we ate there. This was it! Made it and its gone already! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as stated and it was not cooked all the way through. I read one reviewer who modified the recipe by dividing it into 3 mini loaves, next time I will try that. The flavor of the bread is great and would definately try to make this recipe again with some modifications in the loaf size or baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved the rugged texture of this bread. It makes really good toast with butter and honey. Next time I will make it in a loaf pan for ease of cutting. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Love this bread! It is so easy to make and has wonderful flavor. I only had Greek yogurt, so I increased the milk to about 2 Tbs to adjust for the thicker consistency. The recipe said to use a baking sheet, but the bottom burned a little so I flipped the loaf over halfway through and will try a glass pan or baking stone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I too enjoyed this bread. I used regular oats, and it worked fine. What was surprising to me is how long the bread stayed fresh with so little fat in it. Very healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This bread is delicious! It's dense without being dry or gummy. I used plain Greek yogurt instead of regular and it turned out wonderful. My only problems were the salt (not enough) and the baking time. I had taken the bread out after about forty minutes and cut it open to find that the center was still doughy. I put it back in for about ten minutes, wrapped in foil to prevent the crust from scorching, and it came out beautifully. I'm making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe, just like the brown bread we had in Ireland. I have to admit, I did change the sugar to molasses. It just seemed more appropriate, more like what they would have used long ago. Treacle (molasses) is popular sweetener over there. I usually have to use several teaspoons of milk too, like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States