Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Mine came out very heavy and greasy but tasted good. Will I make them again? Probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! It was fairly easy as well, so that's nice. Unfortunately, I made these for a party, so they were not super hot off the pan by the time everyone ate them, but I still only brought home a few. I will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I make this from leftover mashed potatoes. I add onion salt, pepper, flour and an egg. Mix all together and if it is too thick add a little half and half or milk. I spray my skillet with pam and drop by the spoon full and fry until golden brown. I serve it with butter and more salt and pepper if needed. My aunt made this for me when I was a small child and I have always loved them. I am now ready for my 50th wedding anniversary so I have been making them for a long while. They are really good and gives another way to have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We followed the recipe as written but added some grated onion and chopped chives. Good recipe, but next time we'll add less flour, as they were pretty heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made this for St. Patty's Day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These are AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
D'ont know what I did wrong, but mine were chewy. Not crisp on the ouside and tender in the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This recipe was delicious and so easy to make!!! I added chili power. everyone in my house love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Not sure what I was expecting but these were not amazing. They were OK. I doubled the recipe, except for the oil, and fried them in a cast iron skillet. The outside texture was wonderful! The inside was kind of mushy. I made them for St. Patty's Day and if I make them again, it will probably be for that reason only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My kids loved them ... Me? I need some onion, cheese, or veggies in my potato pancakes but not fair to ding the recipe for that. Not sure why I didn't envision them being so bland. I do like hash browns. I would make this again if I ever buy a mandolin. Meanwhile, I recommend against making them w instant mashed and defrosted shred. Yes, a double shortcut but this was part of a huge meal so needed these quick. My result 3 stars or less. Recipe 3-4 stars. Happy St Patrick's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States