Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is awesome! My Dad used to make a variation of this. He would either use just mashed or just grated potatoes. He would actually use the rolling pin on the mashed to make potatoe pancakes, just like his Irish mother used to do. For the grated he would just squeeze them together and fry. Very different tastes and textures. Don't tell Dad, but this Irish Canadian likes this recipe the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy to make & tastes great! I added cheese, roast beef & veggies to the top. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was delicious. I loved the crispy texture and wonderful potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Loved the texture and taste. Easy recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes and added a little onion and garlic pepper. Outstanding texture and flavor. Served with rotisserie roast pork and cole slaw - there wasn't any left :) thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Delicious! Fried these up for my husband's organization as a "heritage night" food and they were eaten up! Tastes similar to hash browns..yum! My only suggestion would be to use a little more oil. By the time I got to the last few, it started smoking a bit because the oil had run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Awesome recipe. It took me a couple of tries but I finally made the perfect boxty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good. Next time I plan to add a bit of onion, bacon and Cheddar cheese to the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Chamberlain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
OMG!!! This Irish-Canadian gal loves her boxty..this is amasing! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and I made 12 mini-boxty and they all came out golden brown and soft. Also I used spelt flour, I'm allergic to wheat (came out grand). Fed them to my sister and she said they reminded her of Ireland. We ate them with ketchup, but will definately come up with something a little more creative next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe was great!! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. The only thing that I did differently was to add cheese and corned beef. Will definitely make again!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States