Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
OMG!!! This Irish-Canadian gal loves her boxty..this is amasing! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and I made 12 mini-boxty and they all came out golden brown and soft. Also I used spelt flour, I'm allergic to wheat (came out grand). Fed them to my sister and she said they reminded her of Ireland. We ate them with ketchup, but will definately come up with something a little more creative next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Crisp on the outside. Tender on the inside. MMMMM! To make these up faster for a brunch, I par-poiled the shredded potatoes for 3 minutes in a big pot of water, then drained well before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. This way, I could cook them for a shorter time at a higher temp, so they were even crispier. You have to dry this recipe for your next brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is awesome! My Dad used to make a variation of this. He would either use just mashed or just grated potatoes. He would actually use the rolling pin on the mashed to make potatoe pancakes, just like his Irish mother used to do. For the grated he would just squeeze them together and fry. Very different tastes and textures. Don't tell Dad, but this Irish Canadian likes this recipe the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I really hate to say it, but this really isn't at all what I ate as a child with my highly-traditional Irish Catholic family. Unfortunately, the family's recipe has since been lost... just a friendly suggestion if you want to tweak this recipe... you should add about a tsp. of baking soda, at least a tsp. of salt (pepper optional), and quite possibly, depending on your taste, some fresh, chopped green onions or chives. Serve with LOTS of butter! :) Oh, and don't use olive oil for frying... use canola or vegetable oil. Irish food isn't supposed to be slimming! ;) Hope I didn't offend anyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My dad is from Ireland, and I wanted to make him something special for his 71st b-day. He said it was a little different from what he remembers, but he did eat it. He said that there were different kinds of boxty, and that his mother would make it as one big patty in the pan, and then cut it up. He also said he remembers her boiling it. Thank you for allowing me to make my dad something to remind him of his youth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes and added a little onion and garlic pepper. Outstanding texture and flavor. Served with rotisserie roast pork and cole slaw - there wasn't any left :) thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
very good side dish. better than I expected. I just needed something to use the egg I accidentally broke and found this! I will make these again for sure! I used instant mashed potatoes and grated red potato with skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tripodious
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Not bad. Very easy and has a nice texture. Would like to try with some diced sauteed onions in it. Very traditional Irish recipe as is. Served with butter on top and sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tripodious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
We just made this recipe and it is good! I will definately make this again with all of my leftover mashed potatoes. The texture was great. I am going to try it with some onions, shredded cheese and diced ham as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was delicious. I loved the crispy texture and wonderful potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States