Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was my first time making Boxty and it came out great! I elected to spice things up a bit more than the original recipe called for by adding some finely chopped green onions & garlic. I served them with some homemade honey-dijon sauce which was really good and I paired the Boxty with some oven-baked tilapia that I found the recipe for on Allrecipes.com...it was a wonderful St. Patty's Day dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberSiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes and added a little onion and garlic pepper. Outstanding texture and flavor. Served with rotisserie roast pork and cole slaw - there wasn't any left :) thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Easy to make, especially if you use frozen shredded hashbrowns. It could use something to add to the flavor, and that was after I added some onion powder. Maybe some fresh onions or green onions would help. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Crisp on the outside. Tender on the inside. MMMMM! To make these up faster for a brunch, I par-poiled the shredded potatoes for 3 minutes in a big pot of water, then drained well before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. This way, I could cook them for a shorter time at a higher temp, so they were even crispier. You have to dry this recipe for your next brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
We just made this recipe and it is good! I will definately make this again with all of my leftover mashed potatoes. The texture was great. I am going to try it with some onions, shredded cheese and diced ham as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My dad is from Ireland, and I wanted to make him something special for his 71st b-day. He said it was a little different from what he remembers, but he did eat it. He said that there were different kinds of boxty, and that his mother would make it as one big patty in the pan, and then cut it up. He also said he remembers her boiling it. Thank you for allowing me to make my dad something to remind him of his youth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Loved the texture and taste. Easy recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
very good side dish. better than I expected. I just needed something to use the egg I accidentally broke and found this! I will make these again for sure! I used instant mashed potatoes and grated red potato with skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
OMG!!! This Irish-Canadian gal loves her boxty..this is amasing! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and I made 12 mini-boxty and they all came out golden brown and soft. Also I used spelt flour, I'm allergic to wheat (came out grand). Fed them to my sister and she said they reminded her of Ireland. We ate them with ketchup, but will definately come up with something a little more creative next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is awesome! My Dad used to make a variation of this. He would either use just mashed or just grated potatoes. He would actually use the rolling pin on the mashed to make potatoe pancakes, just like his Irish mother used to do. For the grated he would just squeeze them together and fry. Very different tastes and textures. Don't tell Dad, but this Irish Canadian likes this recipe the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States