Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought these were good and will make them again. I am Ukranian background and these reminded me of potato pancakes, which I love and find the potato pancakes on the lighter side as there is less flour in them than the Boxty; however, I will make the Boxty to have a traditional Irish meal on Saint Patty's Day or if I'm entertaining the Irish:) so I can serve the traditional meal. Thanks for the submission as I enjoy making and trying authentic receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Wonderful dish! I added green onions for a bit of flavor and used shredded frozen hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good. Next time I plan to add a bit of onion, bacon and Cheddar cheese to the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amethyst217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Awesome recipe. It took me a couple of tries but I finally made the perfect boxty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Delicious! Fried these up for my husband's organization as a "heritage night" food and they were eaten up! Tastes similar to hash browns..yum! My only suggestion would be to use a little more oil. By the time I got to the last few, it started smoking a bit because the oil had run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe was great!! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. The only thing that I did differently was to add cheese and corned beef. Will definitely make again!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy to make & tastes great! I added cheese, roast beef & veggies to the top. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Tasted like fried potatoe dough. It was good, but lacked any real flavor. Use salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this for St. Patrick's day because I wanted something Irish and I'd had it once at a restaurant. Yummy! I would take people's suggestions on how to season it though; my "salt and pepper to taste" always ends up a little bland. Still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cerro Gordo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cold Spring, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was my first time making Boxty and it came out great! I elected to spice things up a bit more than the original recipe called for by adding some finely chopped green onions & garlic. I served them with some homemade honey-dijon sauce which was really good and I paired the Boxty with some oven-baked tilapia that I found the recipe for on Allrecipes.com...it was a wonderful St. Patty's Day dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberSiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States