Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely YUmmY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Easy to make and turned out well. Flavor is just okay. Needed more salt to bring it up a bit on the flavor scale. This would be good served with a main dish with some sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Made these for the first time and have to say, I'm a fan. I wasnt too sure about how the texture would come out, but I stuck with it and they came out perfect! They didnt come out oily or anything. Good enough to eat on heir own and with KETCHUP!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
went by the recipe and the potato cakes are to heavy and bland. Maybe next time will leave out the mashed potatoes and add some chopped onions for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I'm sure this recipe would be FANTASTIC if I had followed it correctly. I tried to shortcut by using fresh refrigerated hashbrowns (Simply Potatoes) instead of grating the raw potato myself. Yuck. It turned out slimy, and then I had to dry the boxty out in a 350 degree oven. My family still liked it, but go with the freshly grated potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luetang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckymom
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good. Made this for lunch with leftover St. Patrick's day potatoes. I put a little sour cream and salsa on top and ended up with a very full belly! Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennebunk, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have tried several of the potato pancake/latke recipes. This one is my favourite. It's a great mix of mashed and grated potato, and I think the ratio of each is just right. Quick to make, and adjustments can be made to suit your preferences, like adding spices/seasonings, or grated onion and minced garlic, which I have also done. My husband devours them-never any leftovers. Thanks Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My DH made these for dinner this evening, and they were FABULOUS! Our 5y.o. DS loved 'em, too! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daplo
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love these! I use frozen shredded hash browns to save time. So good with a little salt and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I doubled the batch and made about 10 large pancakes. It did take a long time to make if you don't have instant mashed potatoes around, and mine were a little thicker than in the restaurant we had them in. We served them with a curry dish and got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States