Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
we added minced onion and a bit of garlic, wonderful flavor , blend between hash browns and potato cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is also extremely Scotish as well as the little poem, both are in a 1937 school text book from Scotland from an elderly relative. Very exciting to find the recipe here, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Mine came out fairly more like doughy pancakes than the crunchy hashbrown texture I was expecting. I think making these is very much like making pancakes - if you are good at making pancakes (I'm not) then you will have more success with these than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
UPDATE!!!: I can't ever get my daughter to eat any kind of potatoes besides fries.... but I made boxty again tonight and she thought it was pancakes.... She ate at least five! I never told her it was potatoes but she loved it!! I love this recipe. My husband and I both have Irish in our family (my great grandmother was irish but never met her). I wanted to cook something irish so I tried this and it was really good! My husband loved it too. I tried it regular, I've tried it with cheese and also tried it with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now for my Irish AND non-Irish family, and everyone seems to love it! I always serve it with ground beef (to crumble on top), chopped onions, and chicken gravy. I know the chicken gravy sounds wierd, but served with the ground beef and onions on the boxty, it is soooo good! I'll be making this for my grandkids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QCiowamiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Amazing! I actually wanted this because I went to a GREAT Irish Pub out in L.A. and I had lemon shrimp boxty! I recreated that meal by making the boxty crepe-like and putting lemon shrimp with sauce inside.... best thing EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These are very easy to make and very tasty. I substituted the skim milk with soy milk for a lactose-free version. They browned just fine with only a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Sometimes I mix in a little chopped green onion or herbs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These are soooo good!!! There easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this for St. Patrick's day. Of course, it goes great with ketchup but alone was good too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States