Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
You can't miss with this one. One of my family's favorites! To save time and make it absolutely tender and delectable, use a PRESSURE COOKER. You can halve the time, and the fat layer scrapes right off. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We found it bland, even cooked in stout. I added turnips, which was the only thing that seemed to retain some of its own flavor, besides the meat. Everything came out a bit mushy, though the meat was very tender. I combined the leftovers with garlic, more onion, salt, and coconut milk (dairy allergy). Blended with the immersion blender and turned it into a tasty cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious!! I added the seasoning pack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this for my in-laws for St. Patrick's day last year and it turned out amazing. I did everything right to the recipe. It also made the house smell great for the next couple of hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandyjoy38
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I followed the recipe except I don't have a large pot so I just slow cooked it for 6 hours and at the last 40 minutes i added the vegetables. It came out perfect, I used the spice packet the corned beef brisket came with so I didn't have to add anything extra or alter anything, My husband absolutely loved it, I will definitely be cooking this recipe again. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyjoy38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Excellent basic recipe! I prefer more spices, in addition to the seasoning pack. I add bay leaves, minced garlic, peppercorns, celery seed & a good dose of vinegar. Yum! Depending on the size of your roast, you'll need to adjust the cooking time---one size does not fit all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
BEST CORNED BEEF EVER! Just like my mama used to make. Superb- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
A great start to good recipe. I messed with it since I've made Corned Beef before. Here's my take: Added 1/2 a bottle of Guinness Stout to the cooking liquid.(from another reviewer) Washed the meat (significantly reduces amt. of foam scum to skim) Added spice packet + caraway seeds (1/2 tsp) and thyme (1 tsp, at last 1/2 hour cooking). Suggest taste broth before adding veggies. It may need salt. I removed the meat from the stock and coated with bread crumbs (another recipe) but found it didn't add anything to the dish. Won't do again. Suggestion from mother to add butter & salt & pepper to veggies after they are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Like other reviews I put the finished brisket under the broiler a few moments after covering with some mustard and brown sugar to let it caramelize. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I use brussel sprouts instead of cabbage, my family likes these better. I also put in a turnip and use russett potatoes with half a dozen pepper corns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States