Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this recipe on St Patrick's day for my family and only added 2 xtras leeks and parsnip and still my family felt it was very bland. I would definately add seasonings to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this stew for St. Paddy's Day, and it went over very well...we had no left-overs, and even my 2 1/2 year old loved it. I will definitely make it again, although next time I will add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stuart Shillinglaw
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My preference for other cooking methods prompted me to make changes. Using two pounds of ground beef and making them into patties, seasoning them with seasoning salt, dicing the patties, and then flouring the meat is my preference. Seasoned ground chops will do as well. Also, sautéing the meat separately with the garlic and sautéing the vegetables at the same time in a large sauté pan and later combining the two is a good idea. O’Doul’s Amber de-alcoholised beer was my choice of beer. I also added 1 tablespoon of worchestershire sauce. Slow cooking on the stove takes less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Shillinglaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
It was good. I added salt, pepper, and seasoning salt to it, but that is just because we like salty food. I will definitely make again. My cousin wanted the recipe so he could hand it out to everyone. I served it with home-made sourdough bread, although wheat bread would be good. Would also be outstanding in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was so good. I added just a bit more of the beer and it was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was my first slow cooker recipe so, I was a little nervous. It was so easy and the beer made a nice unique taste. I ended up using only 5 potato's. I would not have had enough room!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I followed this recipe as is, with the exception of adding some parsley as I saw in other Iris Stew Recipes. The londer it cooks in the crokpot the more tender the beef and vegetabes (at least 10 hours). I served at a party. Everyone really enjoyed. It is better the next day! I added salt to mine as I think it needed a little flavor boost. I would make again for the holiday. It does taste a little different than a traditional American beef stew. oh - I did use Guinness Beer - it is Irish Stew after all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is delicious. I tend to mess with the recipes just a little . . .I added a couple handfuls of dry beans/lentil mix, cabbage, fresh mushrooms and doubled the beer content. I didn't have beef broth so I used a packet of beef seasoning with 2 cups of water. The result was a very rich and well seasoned broth. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very tasty I have friends coming over soon and I am sure it will get the thumbs up sign. Didn't have the leeks oops but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was very good and smelled great when we walked through the door! My only changes were that we didn't add parsnips or potatoes and ate it with mashed potatoes instead. I did add quite a bit of salt when I added the thickener, as it wasn't salty at all. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States