Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is a family fave on cold winters nights! Add a loaf of freshly baked bread and the whole family is content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Capel, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
A pretty standard stew, but the tomato paste and beer add a nice twang. Definitely needs salt and pepper. Served mine in "Bread bowls" from this site on St. Patty's day and everyone loved it. Bonus: There are five beers left over to help you wash it down. Since it's in the sauce, it pairs well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Lavon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I rated this 3 stars because we ate it but no one loved it. I followed the suggestion of Mayelle to give it more flavor, but 2 tablespoons of rosemary is way to much. Everything else blended nicely. If I made this again I would cut the rosemary down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
HAD TO USE A SAMUEL ADAMS BEER. COOKED IN THE PRESSURE COOKER. VERY TENDER AND YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this recipe, using ingredients called for, except that I wasn't able to buy one bottle of Guinness. Had to buy the whole 6 pack. So I used a lager instead. It tasted horrible!!! I doctored it up with spices, even salsa. We did not care for this. I'll go back to making it with wine and red potatoes, spices. Major disappointment on St. Patrick's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
All I can say is 'WOW'! I love being able to use my crockpot for times when we have potlucks at work. Today is St. Patrick's Day and another gal in the office always makes a fabulous corned beef with cabbage, potatoes & carrots - so, I always try to find something that fits the theme while being different. This was it - and, is it ever good! With all the food we had, I saw people going back for seconds and, to me, that's the ultimate compliment! The only thing I'll add next time is a touch of salt. Otherwise, it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This stew is very good! My family loved it! The Irish beer added great flavor, as did the tomato paste. My only problem with this stew is the high cal and fat. It's a very heavy stew and you can feel those 26.6 g of fat after eating it. But it is worth the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We have just finished this stew, I was going to take a picture but it didn't last long enough for that! I took other reviewers advice and added spices. I added about two tablespoons of rosemary, a tsp of garlic, tsp of parsley, salt and pepper, a teeeny sprinkle of thyme and a half teaspoon of italian seasoning.Thank you for the recipe :) Oh also...I kinda started it wrong. I cooked the meat as said, and then I put it in water with four oxo cubes...then let it all soak for about an hr on low heat since I was cooking it on the stove. then I added my potatoes I used baby new potatoes so I didn't have to peel (ha!) then I mixed the tomato paste with some water and another oxo cube, then added it to the stew then finally added the can of beer. Will defo...DEFO be making this again. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Great basic recipe. Just needs a few spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Pretty good. The beer adds nice flavor. We did add extra spices! We also decided to make it in the pressure cooker. It took no time at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States