Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
All I can say is 'WOW'! I love being able to use my crockpot for times when we have potlucks at work. Today is St. Patrick's Day and another gal in the office always makes a fabulous corned beef with cabbage, potatoes & carrots - so, I always try to find something that fits the theme while being different. This was it - and, is it ever good! With all the food we had, I saw people going back for seconds and, to me, that's the ultimate compliment! The only thing I'll add next time is a touch of salt. Otherwise, it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This stew is very good! My family loved it! The Irish beer added great flavor, as did the tomato paste. My only problem with this stew is the high cal and fat. It's a very heavy stew and you can feel those 26.6 g of fat after eating it. But it is worth the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We have just finished this stew, I was going to take a picture but it didn't last long enough for that! I took other reviewers advice and added spices. I added about two tablespoons of rosemary, a tsp of garlic, tsp of parsley, salt and pepper, a teeeny sprinkle of thyme and a half teaspoon of italian seasoning.Thank you for the recipe :) Oh also...I kinda started it wrong. I cooked the meat as said, and then I put it in water with four oxo cubes...then let it all soak for about an hr on low heat since I was cooking it on the stove. then I added my potatoes I used baby new potatoes so I didn't have to peel (ha!) then I mixed the tomato paste with some water and another oxo cube, then added it to the stew then finally added the can of beer. Will defo...DEFO be making this again. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Great basic recipe. Just needs a few spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Pretty good. The beer adds nice flavor. We did add extra spices! We also decided to make it in the pressure cooker. It took no time at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I've found that some rosemary garlic seasoning really pulls it all together and gives it a great flavor. The only other change I make is slow cooking it on the stove. It makes the whole house smell great on a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Hyatt McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was pretty good, and a nice change from Corned Beef and Cabbage (which I personally can't stand) for St Patrick's Day. It really wasn't anything special though - it just tasted like beef stew to me. It really needs some seasoning though. Salt and pepper and probably something else too (can't think of what.) I'd make it again, and my (Irish-American) fiance liked it, so 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good stew! I cooked mine 6 hrs in a crock pot on high. I thought it was a tinsy bit mushy, but that could have just been the way I cooked it. The meat was delicious and the guinness really added to the flavor. I added about a 1/3 head of cabbage and some salt/pepper. Mine was almost a little bland. I couldn't imagine eating it without a little seasoning. Overall? Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was very good and smelled great when we walked through the door! My only changes were that we didn't add parsnips or potatoes and ate it with mashed potatoes instead. I did add quite a bit of salt when I added the thickener, as it wasn't salty at all. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very tasty I have friends coming over soon and I am sure it will get the thumbs up sign. Didn't have the leeks oops but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States