Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Pretty good! I had every intention of making an "Irish" meal on St. Paddy's Day, but.... Unfortunately, I had no "steam" this week (I had a few VERY early mornings, and from what I know about myself, I am just NOT a morning person lol!). I FINALLY got around to prepping everything by Fri., so I made this last night. While my fiance & I both enjoyed this, I do think I prefer my stand-by stew recipe a little better. You know, just the basics - a little red wine, a LOT of herbs, potatoes, carrots, celery, peas, etc. Having said that, we both enjoyed the tang from the beer (used Guinness stout) & found this to be very authentic. There are quite a few Irish stew recipes on here that "claim" authenticity, but unless Irish beer is one of the ingredients, I just don't feel it is. To be a little different, I omitted the potatoes from my stew & instead, served over mashed ones. I used more carrots & an EXTRA lg. onion & upped the amt. of meat slightly to compensate. I followed Mayelle's sugg. and add. 1 1/2 T (all I had left) dried rosemary, a t of dried parsley, 1/2 t Italian seasoning, a pinch of thyme, fresh ground pepper (to taste) & a t of garlic powder (I'm not sure if Mayelle add. fresh + powder or only 1 t fresh, so I add. both!). I did not salt since I add. ~ 1 t seasoned salt to my flour. Served w/ fresh baked crusty caraway rye bread (from my grocer's bakery) & stout to wash it all down...mmmm.... Thx. for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Spectactular! I just made this for St. Patty's day and both my mom and husband loved it! I only made 2 changes: 1) I added two chopped parsnips 2) I didn't bother with the corn startch and water, as the stew thickened quite nicely without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digwriter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I love this Recipe. It's so easy and so very yummy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcakegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this last year for st. patty's day Wow one of the best stews i have ever made and had!!!! My friend is from Liverpool, England and would go to Ireland frequently, he said the meal tasted homely. I said is that good or bad because in America homely is bad. He laughed and said no it tastes like something my mum would make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadymama28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I felt that the recipe didn't have enough liquids. I added two cups broth. I also reduced the stout to six ounces as I had some very strong tasting beer. The result was a very mild and delicious broth with just the right amount of stout taste. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
It was a great recipe but, the stout beer was way to stout for my family. Gave it a wangy taste that my kids didnt enjoy much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good and very good for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Awesome recipe. This stew, for you Southerners, is fabulous with southern style cornbread. Also, reserve some of the broth in which to dip or crumble the cornbread for a late evening snack. The beer really makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was the first Irish Stew I had ever made and it turned out wonderfully! Very easy and boy did the house smell good. Thank you for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States