Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Liked the combination of ingredients but it definitely needs seasoning. Add your own seasonings to your taste but keep it IRISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShibuyaCrow
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong where, but I had the entire recipe cooking for over 12 hrs and the potatoes, and even some of the onions just WOULD NOT COOK. Maybe that was more my cookers fault, but still. Despite delicious gravy (Which I spiced up with garlic poweder, pepper, salt, seasoning salt, and cajun seasoning), I think I'll try for a casserole bake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShibuyaCrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this stew for dinner tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! I had second thoughts as I was putting it together and realized there were no spices! I used tenderizer on the meat and a little salt and pepper but other than that I made as directed. Tastes great! Only thing I'd change is possibly adding a little more broth, but it was a nice thick hearty stew. And the meat was very tender. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had Bud on hand and I added a few frozen peas to add a little color. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It is still simmering but I can tell already that it will be a big hit tomorrow for our St. Patty lunch. I didnt really measure out the veggies or the meat but I have a nice big pot and it tastes wonderful. I used venison instead of beef - that might not be very Irish but that is okay because we are not Irish either :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker and added celery and swede.. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
O my goodness this is the best beef stew ever. What a rich and delightful broth. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cricka
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricka
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This stew is delicious! We didn't have any Guinness on hand, so we just used extra beef broth. I followed the suggestion of many reviewers and added parsley, italian seasoning, and thyme. My husband is in love with this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
just made a pot,very good and tasty!i used what i had on hand. i sub'd tomato sauce i just made for spaghetti a few days ago for tomato paste,probably a little short on beef as i ate some a day ago,was a organic grass fed chuck roast cow,i used a bottle of O.V. for the beer,my potatoes were probably medium sized,i guessed on the carrots,i used the biggest onion i had which was probably a good medium. the beer makes it! was great smelling while cooking. i brought to a boil and turned down to a simmer until i could pierce the vegetables with a fork then let sit flame off for a while and ate 2 bowls & with 2 slices of whole wheat bread, delicious,my pot was pretty filled up so will last a few days i'm sure.i seared the beef 1st with flour coating then added it and finish cooking with the rest,trim as much fat as you can off the beef so you dont have a slick on the surface. turned out great,the liquid did'nt thicken up enuff but is good to drink like soup. also i used chicken broth as i did'nt have beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States