Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The stew was awesome. I found that I didn't need the cornstarch though, the thickness was perfect. I did add some oil from my preserved jalapeno picks that gave it a bit of bite and made it a family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKMEEK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Guinness from a bottle or can usually seems to have a bit of a metallic taste which comes through in the finished stew. If I make this type of stew again, I will try using another beer, probably a Left Hand Milk Stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC recipe!!! Was extremely tasty and the consistency was fabulous. I did add some celery and mushrooms as well (just a personal preference) as well as a bit of salt & pepper. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great stew but as others said, needed some spicing. Only change was I added the tomatoe paste to the skillet used to brown the beef for 20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste and then added the beef broth and deglazed the skillet. Pour into crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes lining the bowl (just like my local Irish pub serves it), and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This stew is flat and tasteless. Needs seasoning badly. Also add another onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My three year old had three helpings of this! I used Newcastle ale since that's what we had in the house. I also opted to cook this on the stove top because I got caught up doing laundry in the morning and didn't get it started in time to make it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good and easy. Followed recipe to the letter, except I only used 5 potatoes because I was running out of room in the crockpot. Dipped with crusty bread. My 3 year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I finely chopped a bit of bacon, browned it, and removed to brown the beef in the bacon drippings. And I used about 3 TBS tomato paste. I brought to a simmer on the stovetop and then cooked in 350-degree oven for about 2 hours. My stew was very thick without the cornstarch, and I don't care for that texture in my soupts and stews, so I omitted. It was so thick that I actually needed to add a splash more beef broth, and I also added a splash of Guinness (just to reinforce the flavor a bit) and some frozen peas when I removed from the heat. Oh, and to make sure the stew wasn't bitter from the Guinness, I added about a TBS of minced raisins before putting in the oven. It may not be traditional, but it's perfect for us and very good on a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States