Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I found that my slow cooker wouldn't hold all the veggies in the recipe. I used half the potato's & half the carrots. Everything else stayed the same. Absolutely amazing!!!! This dish is my new St. Patty's Day tradition!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe, but could use some changes. Half as many potatoes, more liquid, and some spices. I added a sprig each of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme. Also, make sure you mix the beef broth and tomato paste in the same pan you browned the beef in. Make sure to scrape off all the remnants of the browning and mix in with the broth, adds a lot of flavor to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My girlfriend loved it - the others complimented me on it. I, however was not blown away. Although it cooked on low for 8+ hrs - the meat was not as tender as I'd like. I added all sorts of spices to 'taste it up' - still lacking - can't give it a 5*. Don't know that I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
First time trying a slow cook recipe, and it was so easy to do, and tasted amazing. Although I didn't use Guinness as it said. Instead I tried a bottle of Kona Brewing Company's Pipeline Porter, and it was still a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I fixed this yesterday for my husband. It filled my 6 quart slow cooker full. It was so hearty and tasty. I had nearly 3 quarts left over and took some to a neighbor and put some in the freezer (for our college kid). Both my husband and the neighbor loved it. This is for sure a keeper and will be cooked several times over the cooler weather. One thing.. next time I am going to add some peas to it for extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
awesome taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was wonderful Irish Stew. My daughter asked me to make it again soon. I did add some corn celery and mushrooms and some fresh thyme and oregano. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for a St. Patty's Day party this weekend and it was great. I used a bottle of Newcastle...just personal preference, as I don't like Guinness. Definitely do not be afraid to add your own seasonings...it needs it. After some salt, pepper, parsley, rosemary and a little garlic powder it tasted fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The stew was awesome. I found that I didn't need the cornstarch though, the thickness was perfect. I did add some oil from my preserved jalapeno picks that gave it a bit of bite and made it a family hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKMEEK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Guinness from a bottle or can usually seems to have a bit of a metallic taste which comes through in the finished stew. If I make this type of stew again, I will try using another beer, probably a Left Hand Milk Stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States