Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This stew is delicious! We didn't have any Guinness on hand, so we just used extra beef broth. I followed the suggestion of many reviewers and added parsley, italian seasoning, and thyme. My husband is in love with this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
just made a pot,very good and tasty!i used what i had on hand. i sub'd tomato sauce i just made for spaghetti a few days ago for tomato paste,probably a little short on beef as i ate some a day ago,was a organic grass fed chuck roast cow,i used a bottle of O.V. for the beer,my potatoes were probably medium sized,i guessed on the carrots,i used the biggest onion i had which was probably a good medium. the beer makes it! was great smelling while cooking. i brought to a boil and turned down to a simmer until i could pierce the vegetables with a fork then let sit flame off for a while and ate 2 bowls & with 2 slices of whole wheat bread, delicious,my pot was pretty filled up so will last a few days i'm sure.i seared the beef 1st with flour coating then added it and finish cooking with the rest,trim as much fat as you can off the beef so you dont have a slick on the surface. turned out great,the liquid did'nt thicken up enuff but is good to drink like soup. also i used chicken broth as i did'nt have beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved this recipe! Melt-in-your-mouth beef and just a fantastic stew. We made it with Irish soda bread for a great fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Really great stew, however transformed it more into a french stew by replacing the beer with red wine, and adding parsley. Also I took out veggies and meat at the end, placed it in a serving dish and then boiled down/thickened the remaining liquid to pour over the stew. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used this recipe for the first time this year as I REALLY wanted Irish Stew. A church here sells homemade Irish Stew and I just couldn't get there during their hours. I didn't think I could ever make it as good as theirs. But this recipe was IT! The only thing I did different was use a 1 lb. bag of baby carrots to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a great stew, very easy to prepare which what I was looking for on St.Patty's day morning. It was a big hit with the guys, meat was super tender. I thought it was lacking in flavor, it needed spicing up. Salt, pepper, herbs are definite simple but necessary additions to make this even better. I also added celery. Not greasy at all, not sure if other reviewers are using too much oil and/or are pouring the meat with the oil into the crockpot? I will make again but with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I found the recipe greasy. Next time I'll make it the day before, refrigerate, remove hardened grease, then add the cornstarch when reheating. I also added some salt and pepper, thyme, and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I was looking for a replacement for our usual Corned Beef and Cabbage St. Patty's dinner, and this one was a complete hit with the family. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
made this for an Eagles free St Patty's Day celebration...it was a hit...our members loved it! thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Pretty good! I had every intention of making an "Irish" meal on St. Paddy's Day, but.... Unfortunately, I had no "steam" this week (I had a few VERY early mornings, and from what I know about myself, I am just NOT a morning person lol!). I FINALLY got around to prepping everything by Fri., so I made this last night. While my fiance & I both enjoyed this, I do think I prefer my stand-by stew recipe a little better. You know, just the basics - a little red wine, a LOT of herbs, potatoes, carrots, celery, peas, etc. Having said that, we both enjoyed the tang from the beer (used Guinness stout) & found this to be very authentic. There are quite a few Irish stew recipes on here that "claim" authenticity, but unless Irish beer is one of the ingredients, I just don't feel it is. To be a little different, I omitted the potatoes from my stew & instead, served over mashed ones. I used more carrots & an EXTRA lg. onion & upped the amt. of meat slightly to compensate. I followed Mayelle's sugg. and add. 1 1/2 T (all I had left) dried rosemary, a t of dried parsley, 1/2 t Italian seasoning, a pinch of thyme, fresh ground pepper (to taste) & a t of garlic powder (I'm not sure if Mayelle add. fresh + powder or only 1 t fresh, so I add. both!). I did not salt since I add. ~ 1 t seasoned salt to my flour. Served w/ fresh baked crusty caraway rye bread (from my grocer's bakery) & stout to wash it all down...mmmm.... Thx. for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States