Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had Bud on hand and I added a few frozen peas to add a little color. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It is still simmering but I can tell already that it will be a big hit tomorrow for our St. Patty lunch. I didnt really measure out the veggies or the meat but I have a nice big pot and it tastes wonderful. I used venison instead of beef - that might not be very Irish but that is okay because we are not Irish either :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker and added celery and swede.. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
O my goodness this is the best beef stew ever. What a rich and delightful broth. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cricka
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricka
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This stew is delicious! We didn't have any Guinness on hand, so we just used extra beef broth. I followed the suggestion of many reviewers and added parsley, italian seasoning, and thyme. My husband is in love with this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
just made a pot,very good and tasty!i used what i had on hand. i sub'd tomato sauce i just made for spaghetti a few days ago for tomato paste,probably a little short on beef as i ate some a day ago,was a organic grass fed chuck roast cow,i used a bottle of O.V. for the beer,my potatoes were probably medium sized,i guessed on the carrots,i used the biggest onion i had which was probably a good medium. the beer makes it! was great smelling while cooking. i brought to a boil and turned down to a simmer until i could pierce the vegetables with a fork then let sit flame off for a while and ate 2 bowls & with 2 slices of whole wheat bread, delicious,my pot was pretty filled up so will last a few days i'm sure.i seared the beef 1st with flour coating then added it and finish cooking with the rest,trim as much fat as you can off the beef so you dont have a slick on the surface. turned out great,the liquid did'nt thicken up enuff but is good to drink like soup. also i used chicken broth as i did'nt have beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved this recipe! Melt-in-your-mouth beef and just a fantastic stew. We made it with Irish soda bread for a great fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Really great stew, however transformed it more into a french stew by replacing the beer with red wine, and adding parsley. Also I took out veggies and meat at the end, placed it in a serving dish and then boiled down/thickened the remaining liquid to pour over the stew. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used this recipe for the first time this year as I REALLY wanted Irish Stew. A church here sells homemade Irish Stew and I just couldn't get there during their hours. I didn't think I could ever make it as good as theirs. But this recipe was IT! The only thing I did different was use a 1 lb. bag of baby carrots to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States