Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was pretty good, the stout soaked into the meat reaaaaal nicely. Does need some kind of salt or spice, though. I forgot to add the cornstarch and water at the end but it turned out nice and thick anyway. //ryAn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So easy to make and delicious. Did not need cornstarch to thicken. Did need to add spices to help with flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This stew was just OK--nothing exceptional. I brought it to a potluck and only half was eaten. My husband also wasn't crazy about this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Declicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Liked the combination of ingredients but it definitely needs seasoning. Add your own seasonings to your taste but keep it IRISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Dawn Fischer
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong where, but I had the entire recipe cooking for over 12 hrs and the potatoes, and even some of the onions just WOULD NOT COOK. Maybe that was more my cookers fault, but still. Despite delicious gravy (Which I spiced up with garlic poweder, pepper, salt, seasoning salt, and cajun seasoning), I think I'll try for a casserole bake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dawn Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this stew for dinner tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! I had second thoughts as I was putting it together and realized there were no spices! I used tenderizer on the meat and a little salt and pepper but other than that I made as directed. Tastes great! Only thing I'd change is possibly adding a little more broth, but it was a nice thick hearty stew. And the meat was very tender. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had Bud on hand and I added a few frozen peas to add a little color. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It is still simmering but I can tell already that it will be a big hit tomorrow for our St. Patty lunch. I didnt really measure out the veggies or the meat but I have a nice big pot and it tastes wonderful. I used venison instead of beef - that might not be very Irish but that is okay because we are not Irish either :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker and added celery and swede.. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States