Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great stew but as others said, needed some spicing. Only change was I added the tomatoe paste to the skillet used to brown the beef for 20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste and then added the beef broth and deglazed the skillet. Pour into crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes lining the bowl (just like my local Irish pub serves it), and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This stew is flat and tasteless. Needs seasoning badly. Also add another onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My three year old had three helpings of this! I used Newcastle ale since that's what we had in the house. I also opted to cook this on the stove top because I got caught up doing laundry in the morning and didn't get it started in time to make it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good and easy. Followed recipe to the letter, except I only used 5 potatoes because I was running out of room in the crockpot. Dipped with crusty bread. My 3 year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I finely chopped a bit of bacon, browned it, and removed to brown the beef in the bacon drippings. And I used about 3 TBS tomato paste. I brought to a simmer on the stovetop and then cooked in 350-degree oven for about 2 hours. My stew was very thick without the cornstarch, and I don't care for that texture in my soupts and stews, so I omitted. It was so thick that I actually needed to add a splash more beef broth, and I also added a splash of Guinness (just to reinforce the flavor a bit) and some frozen peas when I removed from the heat. Oh, and to make sure the stew wasn't bitter from the Guinness, I added about a TBS of minced raisins before putting in the oven. It may not be traditional, but it's perfect for us and very good on a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was pretty good, the stout soaked into the meat reaaaaal nicely. Does need some kind of salt or spice, though. I forgot to add the cornstarch and water at the end but it turned out nice and thick anyway. //ryAn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So easy to make and delicious. Did not need cornstarch to thicken. Did need to add spices to help with flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This stew was just OK--nothing exceptional. I brought it to a potluck and only half was eaten. My husband also wasn't crazy about this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Declicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States