Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
It was good but I found the tomato paste a little overwhelming. I added 2 tsps of Worcester sauce. Next time I will add more beef broth and a bit more of the Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
wonderful recipe! note to people who have yet to try this, looks can be deceiving because frankly this is likely to be one of the best stews you will eat. i added more vegetables than the recipe called for like corn, peas, carrots, and celery. i also added red pepper flakes and rosemary to spice it up a bit. the only thing i changed was the amount of beer in the recipe. i used about half less. will be making this again :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was so easy and delicious!! I added some mushrooms the last 10 minutes and put it over rice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindy_richelle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My family loved this stew, I served it with some irish soda bread. This is now my goto beef stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My favorite beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe was great. It tasted even better the next day. I used a citrus dark beer which gave it a little zing in the taste. Whole family loved it. Even the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best beef stew!!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Totally authentic! Tastes just like the Irish Stew we ate at the Bleeding Horse in Dublin, Ireland. Added 1tsp of rosemary, 2tsp of Worcestershire Sauce and seasoned the beef with salt and pepper when coating it with the flour. I also added an additional 1 cup of Beef Broth because it was too thick, as well as a Knorr Beef Stock tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made some changes though. 1) I didn't have any stout (apparently I got drunk last night.) but I did have a bottle of Red Hook Audible. (Slightly hoppy lighter ale.) 2) I don't peel potatoes. I like the peels, and it seems pointless/wasteful. I cut them into thick slices. 3) I doubled the broth.(On accident. Slightly hung over.) 4) I made a dark roux instead of using cornstarch. This gave it a slight roasted nutty flavor. I added this about an hour prior to finish. 5) I put a dash of liquid smoke in there. The stew came out awesome. I cooked it for 6 hours on high in the crock pot. The changes I made, like all changes, were due to preference and necessity. Many times when I am looking for a recipe, I don't want to run to the store and so I make substitutions. I think the spirit of the recipe remained intact, and this stew has a strong spirit indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States