Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a great stew, very easy to prepare which what I was looking for on St.Patty's day morning. It was a big hit with the guys, meat was super tender. I thought it was lacking in flavor, it needed spicing up. Salt, pepper, herbs are definite simple but necessary additions to make this even better. I also added celery. Not greasy at all, not sure if other reviewers are using too much oil and/or are pouring the meat with the oil into the crockpot? I will make again but with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I found the recipe greasy. Next time I'll make it the day before, refrigerate, remove hardened grease, then add the cornstarch when reheating. I also added some salt and pepper, thyme, and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I was looking for a replacement for our usual Corned Beef and Cabbage St. Patty's dinner, and this one was a complete hit with the family. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
made this for an Eagles free St Patty's Day celebration...it was a hit...our members loved it! thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Pretty good! I had every intention of making an "Irish" meal on St. Paddy's Day, but.... Unfortunately, I had no "steam" this week (I had a few VERY early mornings, and from what I know about myself, I am just NOT a morning person lol!). I FINALLY got around to prepping everything by Fri., so I made this last night. While my fiance & I both enjoyed this, I do think I prefer my stand-by stew recipe a little better. You know, just the basics - a little red wine, a LOT of herbs, potatoes, carrots, celery, peas, etc. Having said that, we both enjoyed the tang from the beer (used Guinness stout) & found this to be very authentic. There are quite a few Irish stew recipes on here that "claim" authenticity, but unless Irish beer is one of the ingredients, I just don't feel it is. To be a little different, I omitted the potatoes from my stew & instead, served over mashed ones. I used more carrots & an EXTRA lg. onion & upped the amt. of meat slightly to compensate. I followed Mayelle's sugg. and add. 1 1/2 T (all I had left) dried rosemary, a t of dried parsley, 1/2 t Italian seasoning, a pinch of thyme, fresh ground pepper (to taste) & a t of garlic powder (I'm not sure if Mayelle add. fresh + powder or only 1 t fresh, so I add. both!). I did not salt since I add. ~ 1 t seasoned salt to my flour. Served w/ fresh baked crusty caraway rye bread (from my grocer's bakery) & stout to wash it all down...mmmm.... Thx. for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Spectactular! I just made this for St. Patty's day and both my mom and husband loved it! I only made 2 changes: 1) I added two chopped parsnips 2) I didn't bother with the corn startch and water, as the stew thickened quite nicely without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digwriter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I love this Recipe. It's so easy and so very yummy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcakegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this last year for st. patty's day Wow one of the best stews i have ever made and had!!!! My friend is from Liverpool, England and would go to Ireland frequently, he said the meal tasted homely. I said is that good or bad because in America homely is bad. He laughed and said no it tastes like something my mum would make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadymama28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I felt that the recipe didn't have enough liquids. I added two cups broth. I also reduced the stout to six ounces as I had some very strong tasting beer. The result was a very mild and delicious broth with just the right amount of stout taste. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States