Irish Beef Stew with Guinness® Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe,I had to double up the beer, but it was awesome, goes well with an Irish Soda Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The problem may be that like KerryB, I made it on low in my slow cooker, which did not get hot enough to really cook off the alcohol or take away the bitterness of the Guinness. (The meat is quite good.) I like Guinness, but it tastes as if the stout has gone slightly off. If I try this again, I won't do it in the slow-cooker so that the alcohol is cooked off -- It's definitely different getting a buzz from a bowl of stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe because I love the Guinness stew at a local Irish pub. This was a good substitute, just not as good as I am used too. I will probably make it again, just not when the teens will be home, they didn't care for it much, but what do they know about good food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyjazzd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorntown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thanks... this beginner (used to be a full time working mom, now a stay home mom) is learning to love my slow cooker. I tried this recipe and it was a BIG hit! Mixed in sweet potatoes and added a lot of beef bullion and a pinch of flour to thicken. Used Guinness Draught beer... got a thumbs up from the hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've made this twice before, and am embarking on my third pot! I adore it! The first two times, I've followed the recipe exactly. This time, I've add a bit more meat and potatoes and some carrots, just to see how it would taste... I had to add in a little bit of beef broth to cover everything. But wow is it fantastic! This is a certified hit in our house. Especially with a homemade loaf of country bread to clean the bowls with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this recepie for St. Patty's party I hosted. It came out quite well. I did change it up a bit because I did not have all the ingredients. I used two potatoes and 2 sweet potatoes and added extra carrots and celery to add a bit more color. I also added beef broth. It came out more like a soup but It was delish. The guiness gave it a kick!! I guess it did not taste too bitter because of the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
To me the stout did make it quite bitter. I made my stew in a slow-cooker. My husband likes just about anything and he did not care for this. Sadly, I will not be making this again. At least not with the stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This stew was bitter, thin like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe. I made a few modifications: I recommend making sure you use stout, since the tab thing in the draft can change the soup a bit. Also, since the beer can leave a bit of a bitter aftertaste, throw in some finely chopped prunes (about 1/4 cup or less); they will dissolve but will take away the bitterness and add another layer to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States