Irish Barmbrack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this recipe. I used a mixture of sultana raisins, dried cranberries and apricots. Great texture and flavour. I also dusted it with icing sugar to finish it off. Pretty and delicious. Thanks Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was very good and easy to make. I used a mix of dried fruits that were diced (apples, apricots, raisins, peaches, and pears). I was a little concerned with how thick my batter was when I was making it; I had to scoop out spoonfuls and spread them around my pan. It came out great though and was really good sliced and buttered then broiled for a couple minutes. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is now a regular in my cook book! I made it for a class for Samhein (Celtic Halloween) , and it was a big hit. I was cheap and used only golden raisins for my class, but any dried fruit mixture is great, I love dates personally. The batter is ridiculously thick, so I don't sqeeze excess moisture out of the fruit, just run off the worst of it, and I have to press it into the pan to bake, but it turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was delicious!I was looking for an Irish dessert that didn't have alcohol in it to take to a church function. This was a hit! I did make a few changes, to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand. I used dried blueberries, cranberries and apricots for the fruit, Celestial Seasonings Madagascar Red Vanilla for the tea, and I didn't have lemon marmalade, so I used orange fig preserves. The batter appeared to be a bit dry, and I was a little worried, but the cake itself turned out moist and delicious. Just make sure you sort of push the batter down in the pan and flatten it. I got many requests for the recipe. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was frankly surprised at how good this was. I made it for a St. Pat's day party (held a few days before it) and it was devoured with oohs and aahs. Instead of sticking objects in the bottom, I made little fortune-cookie like strips of paper, wrote "predictions" on them and rolled them up, putting them in the hole in the center of the cake. Everyone was given one of these with each serving, and it was great fun reading them aloud one at at time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Federico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I really enjoyed the taste and texture of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Thank you for this lovely recipe. I made it for a St Patrick's Day party. I followed the directions pretty much with the exception of adding a 1/2 tsp cardamom (just cuz I like it). I used pineapple-apricot jam because I couldn't find lemon marmalade. I used black raisins, dried apricots and cranberries. Not sure if the jam and raisins made it a bit too sweet. I'll probably cut the sugar to 1 cup next time, and try orange marmalade. I do want to make this again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As I was putting this together I got worried that there was no fat in it and kept checking the recipe to see if I made a mistake! Then it was soooo thick I knew something had to be wrong, but I went ahead and baked it.....UNBELIEVABLE. It is rich and delicious and I will make it again and again. Thumbs up from the whole family. And with 7 of us there is always someone who doesn't like what I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
the recipe says pour in pan. This batter didn't pour. maybe I did something wrong. tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Only reason I didn't rate as 5 stars is that the instructions are not complete. Do NOT discard the tea, as I did initially. It came out very dry, and I read other versions of barmbrack to see what I did wrong. Be sure to add the tea back into the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States