Irish Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This came out exceptionally well.. I used blue berries dried instead of currants.. good with butter (when I say butter I mean good butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Whoa... my new favourite snack and breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
The grandkids love making this bread it is quick and they love to knead it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This is a very traditional bread ~ also great when served along side Irish Stew or Corned Beef and Cabbage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My grandma used to make something very similar to this and this recipe really took me back. It turned out wonderfully! I am sure I will be making it many, many times. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love To Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was looking for a lower fat scone recipe that didn't use so much butter. These were very good. I followed the recipe except I used oil instead of butter, but the dough was very sticky and couldn't be kneeded, so I just mixed with a spoon and put it right onto the greased cookie sheet...didn't have any currants, so I used dried cranberries. Next time might try adding grated orange peel. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Amazing! I made one loaf, they ate it all in one day, had to make another. I've tried it with raisins, plain, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this as a last minute addition to our St. Patrick's Day meal. I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I substituted skim milk with a tbsp of vinegar mixed in. I soaked the currants in some warm water before mixing them in. Also, I carelessly dumped the whole cup of milk in rather than adding it until the dough was soft. It made for a wet, sticky dough that I was unable to knead, but I shaped it and place it in an oiled cake pan. The result was a lovely, cakey loaf that my husband raved over. We served it with butter at dinner and then we had it for breakfast this morning with butter and jam. Delicious and easy (not to mention forgiving). This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Really enjoyed this. Like a scone bread. Stayed moist and tasty even the next day. Can't say if it lasts longer because we ate it all before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This turned out great, so nice and moist! I had to sub raisins for the currants, as that was what I had in the house. I did put the full amount of buttermilk in, and soaked the raisins in hot water first. The dough was very wet, but held its shape when I put it on the baking sheet (did not grease the sheet, I lined it with parchment paper instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States