Irish Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So simple and yet so incredibly delicious! Perfect with Irish Breakfast Tea! This is definitely scone-like and great warm out of the oven with a bit of butter! Since I like things a bit sweeter, I used 1/4 cup of sugar. I froze my butter and used a cheese grater to "grate" it in to the flour mixture. I also used raisins instead of currants. Buttermilk is great for baking as it always makes things very moist. I used a whole cup and had no trouble with kneading. I formed the dough into a 7 inch round and placed it onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I did an egg wash over top and it baked up nice and brown. This is such a simple recipe that produces such great results. I think you could simplify it even more and just use 2 cups of self-rising flour along with the sugar, butter, buttermilk and raisins....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I've made it twice - love it a little more moist. I added the whole cup of buttermilk (maybe plus a little more), which makes a wet dough. Can't be kneaded. I just dumped it out onto the greased cookie sheet, shaped it into a 7" round, & baked it. Much better that way . . . moist & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
If you soak the currants in rum for half an hour before you use them then drain and add to bread it really perks up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this as a last minute addition to our St. Patrick's Day meal. I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I substituted skim milk with a tbsp of vinegar mixed in. I soaked the currants in some warm water before mixing them in. Also, I carelessly dumped the whole cup of milk in rather than adding it until the dough was soft. It made for a wet, sticky dough that I was unable to knead, but I shaped it and place it in an oiled cake pan. The result was a lovely, cakey loaf that my husband raved over. We served it with butter at dinner and then we had it for breakfast this morning with butter and jam. Delicious and easy (not to mention forgiving). This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This turned out great, so nice and moist! I had to sub raisins for the currants, as that was what I had in the house. I did put the full amount of buttermilk in, and soaked the raisins in hot water first. The dough was very wet, but held its shape when I put it on the baking sheet (did not grease the sheet, I lined it with parchment paper instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Whoa... my new favourite snack and breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love To Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was looking for a lower fat scone recipe that didn't use so much butter. These were very good. I followed the recipe except I used oil instead of butter, but the dough was very sticky and couldn't be kneeded, so I just mixed with a spoon and put it right onto the greased cookie sheet...didn't have any currants, so I used dried cranberries. Next time might try adding grated orange peel. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
The grandkids love making this bread it is quick and they love to knead it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
I do not believe that this is a recipe childen would choose overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This is a very traditional bread ~ also great when served along side Irish Stew or Corned Beef and Cabbage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States