Irish Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was very tasty. I only had raisins so that's what I used. Very good teatime scone recipe delicious warm out of the oven with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I substituted chopped dates for the currants and it was a big hit! This was easy to make and I think I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this today in honor of St. Paddy's Day. Very easy and very good!! I soaked the raisins in brandy overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Edinburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I just pulled this out of the oven, and it's quite tasty. I love that the fact that it isn't overly sweet. I took the advice of the other reviewers and added in the full cup of buttermilk; but my dough wasn't sticky like other's were saying, so I went ahead and kneaded it. I used a mixture of raisins and golden raisins instead of currants, and I also added a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. I'm planning on baking another one and putting it in the freezer for later. This bread is so easy to make, and so delicious, that I plan on making it a regular thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne OBrien-Kakley
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I wish I could give more stars! This is one of the best things I've ever made from AllRecipes. I simply LOVE this loaf. I made it with golden raisins instead of currants but followed everything else exactly. This will be a kitchen staple from now on. Thanks SO much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne OBrien-Kakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Threw all the ingredients into a bowl and added a full cup of buttermilk. Formed into a 7inch round and baked for 40mins. Came out delicious & moist! Very simple, easy recipe and yields great results. Only problem is keeping myself from eating the whole thing =} Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitín'11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Easy recipe. Just tried my first piece fresh out of the oven and thought it was great. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
A nice, simple soda bread that is moist and has good flavor. I used my food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture and then mixed the buttermilk in. I removed the dough from the food processor and kneaded the raisins into the dough. Super easy and great with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used the dough hook on my electric mixer and it worked great. I also just cut the butter into small chunks instead of cutting in. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elijah
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Awesome and easy to make. I added a little more than a cup of buttermilk and used dried cranberries instead of currants. Goes great with a hot cup of chai tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States