Irish Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this for breakfast to surprise my family. It came out looking really good. I didn't have raisons. I thought I had dried cranberry's, but didn't. So I chopped up some dried apricots. REALLY GOOD! I also put in a little cinnamon for flavor. And like other people suggested, use all the milk! We ate this slathered with jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Mine came out flat. I didn't really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was wonderful! I've been looking for a good breakfast bread recipe that doesn't include tons of sugar, and this was not only a snap to make, but tasted delicious. I didn't have currants, so I used raisins soaked overnight in rum, and because we don't drink milk, I soured a cup of plain almond milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice to sub for the buttermilk. It made the crust a little chewy, but otherwise worked just fine. The bread was light, fluffy, and made the house smell amazing. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Easy, quick, and delicious, with or without the currents! Good with butter, cheese, or jelly. Don't worry about kneading if the dough is too wet for it – it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This came out exceptionally well.. I used blue berries dried instead of currants.. good with butter (when I say butter I mean good butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This turned out great, so nice and moist! I had to sub raisins for the currants, as that was what I had in the house. I did put the full amount of buttermilk in, and soaked the raisins in hot water first. The dough was very wet, but held its shape when I put it on the baking sheet (did not grease the sheet, I lined it with parchment paper instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious! The dough is very wet and hard to knead, so I followed another reviewer's tip and just shaped it onto a greased cake pan. I also didn't have currants, so I used half dried cranberries and half sunflower seeds. The crust is nice and crispy and the inside is soft and moist. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Really good. I skipped the currents and it was still great. A simple and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Really enjoyed this. Like a scone bread. Stayed moist and tasty even the next day. Can't say if it lasts longer because we ate it all before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this as a last minute addition to our St. Patrick's Day meal. I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I substituted skim milk with a tbsp of vinegar mixed in. I soaked the currants in some warm water before mixing them in. Also, I carelessly dumped the whole cup of milk in rather than adding it until the dough was soft. It made for a wet, sticky dough that I was unable to knead, but I shaped it and place it in an oiled cake pan. The result was a lovely, cakey loaf that my husband raved over. We served it with butter at dinner and then we had it for breakfast this morning with butter and jam. Delicious and easy (not to mention forgiving). This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States