Irish Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Really good. My sister made it a little more moist and added raisins and it was absolutely to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Italiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this one morning for my kids, since we'd just finished a book in our homeschooling which talked about "baking a bannock." Easy to make, tasted great, and the kids loved it! Best hot, right out of the oven. I added cherries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So simple and yet so incredibly delicious! Perfect with Irish Breakfast Tea! This is definitely scone-like and great warm out of the oven with a bit of butter! Since I like things a bit sweeter, I used 1/4 cup of sugar. I froze my butter and used a cheese grater to "grate" it in to the flour mixture. I also used raisins instead of currants. Buttermilk is great for baking as it always makes things very moist. I used a whole cup and had no trouble with kneading. I formed the dough into a 7 inch round and placed it onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I did an egg wash over top and it baked up nice and brown. This is such a simple recipe that produces such great results. I think you could simplify it even more and just use 2 cups of self-rising flour along with the sugar, butter, buttermilk and raisins....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I cut the sugar to 1tsp, added sun dried tomatoes, pesto and parmesan cheese and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was a very enjoyable bread. I do prefer scones, but many in my family preferred this. The things I did differently ... we can't drink cows milk, so I used soy milk. I'm going to try goat milk one of these times too. I think it may taste better with the goats milk. Only time will tell. I also used raisins, as I rain out of currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe! My wife asks me to bake one of these every few days. I've also done a few where I replaced the currants with Kalamata Olives and shredded cheese; WOW! Delicious! My only advice is to flour your hands; this dough is STICKY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent. I was surprised how moist it was. I expected more of a biscuit, but it was more like bread. My kids liked it too! I did use some extra flour on top when kneeding it, since it was very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was my second try at an Irish Soda Bread. This one was by far better than the last one. My family really enjoyed the bread also. I made it to go with Cabbage Roll Casserole for ST. Patricks day. The only thing I changed was to add a extra tblsp of sugar, because I always like things sweeter than normal, and I used sour milk due to lack of buttermilk. Excellent. Thanks for sharing! I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It doesn't get better than this! Incredibly easy and delicious - something you can easily throw together at a moment's notice. I soaked the currents in hot water before adding them to the batter, and also skipped the kneading step. The bread turned out perfectly, with a gorgeous texture and just-right level of sweetness. My kids loved it toasted for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
i doubled the butter to 4 tbsp. and it was still a bit tough, even without kneading. otherwise, this was quite good. i'll try it again with a touch more liquid, as i think that it had to be stirred too much to get all the dry ingredients incorporated; hence the toughness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States