Irish Bacon And Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My husband and I both liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
a really easy, tasty and hardy dish. It's not a main course but a perfect side soup. I found using pancetta does not work as it is really salty and stringy That's just absurd and rude! Thanks for the great recipe Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very good! I will make it again using Canadian Bacon or Pancetta. They are supposed to be good substitutes for Irish bacon. I made it because I had some bacon I needed to use. It was regular bacon, so I just didn't cook it as crisp as I usually do. I did make one change --- added a can of rinsed and drained navy beans. I thought it was a relatively quick and easy soup, and actually could be made without the bacon as a good vegetarian dish. I just remembered --- I couldn't find savoy cabbage, so I just used the green cabbage available here. Served it as a meal with cornbread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I didn't like this at all. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is one of those comfort foods that tastes better the second day, after the flavors have had time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this for St. Patrick's Day and it was absolutely fantastic! I couldn't find Irish bacon for the life of me so I used pancetta instead. In the future, I would probably use regular bacon instead of pancetta, as I found the pancetta had a sweet taste to it that I could have done without. I also threw in a pound of sliced turkey polska kielbasa and a diced onion for some added flavor and some cayenne for a kick. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SyllabaryBisque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I just made this for supper and we loved it. I may use hamburger next time instead of bacon. But it is a great and easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I didn't have Irish bacon nor savoy cabbage so I used regular bacon and cabbage instead. I think that this is a good soup base but it needs tweaking. I had to add a lot more stuff after realizing that it's bland and it lacks flavor. I added a quartered onion, 2 stalks of celery sliced into 1/4 pieces, (which I removed afterwards because the pot was getting too crowded) basil and red pepper flakes. I also used low sodium chicken broth because I thought the bacon will add to the saltiness. I don't know if this is one of the reasons mine lacked flavor. The bacon did nothing to flavor the soup. They turned out mushy after being boiled. I most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Great soup! Used regular bacon. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Per other "Chefs" in the audience, I upped the broth and added celery. Also used chicken sausage and regular bacon. Love the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States