Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great sauce thank you for sharing! It was just a little to much salt for us so next time I will cut the salt outside of that it was wonderful! I had a pork roast left over and chunked it put it in the sauce had a yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Easy to make and tastes great, my husband kept complimenting me, because I don't cook that often, he has even asked me to make it again. You can't get a better review than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Well, I get a grade of "D" for following directions. I dumped all ingredients in the beginning instead of saving the last 3 to dump in the last couple minutes. Oh well, still turned out fabulous. I used honey instead of brown sugar (did not have any) and added some dried chipotle powder and Sriracha since I like it spicy! This sauce is delicious. Used it on Smokey Mountain Chicken recipe also on this site. Next time I'll cook it correctly and see if it makes a difference, and I don't think it needs quite that much oil so I'll reduce it by about 1/3 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Didn't have liquid smoke or cayenne, so I subbed chipotle pepper (used one pepper and about a tablespoon of the adobo sauce)--it covered both the smokiness and the heat well. I give this 4 stars instead of 5 because I found it a bit too vinegar-y; at the end I added a bit more ketchup and a few teaspoons of honey. Nice flavor--sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was a tastey sauce! I wish I would have made more of it. I know next time to scale it up quite a bit. I used half red onion and half yellow. I also pulled the onions out so the kids could not see them. They were yummy by themselves. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My family LOVES this sauce and are constantly asking me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My friends loved this sauce and asked me to make it again for his birthday. I used it on pork ribs in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I let this age several days, which allowed the vinegary flavor to mellow. It was very good indeed. I'll be making it for gifts come Christmas. I did make some changes: I halved the amount of vinegar (used water to make up the liquid volume) and substituted balsamic instead of distilled white. I used lime instead of lemon juice. I diced the onions and carmelized half of them before adding to the sauce. I used half the amount of sugar and used tomato paste instead of ketchup (I really don't like sweet BBQ sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i never made homemade bbq sauce before and i couldn't believe how good it was.i did cut back on the vinegar and peppers because i don't do to well with spicy stuff but this was delish! it was so good i was sipping it from a cup. i kept going back just taking little sips it was crazy. oh yeah i also added much more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
First time I've ever made BBQ sauce from scratch. I really like a sweeter sauce, so I added much more brown sugar. Very nice, will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States