Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Great starter recipe. I had some bacon grease in the skillet from lunch. I sliced green onions and chopped up a clove of elephant garlic and sauteed. like another poster, i used tomato paste. and sauteed that with the onions n garlic (kinda sweated some of the liquid out...) added lemon juice, mustard, course red pepper, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, splash of vinegar and salt. unfortunately, i never measured anything so now I have an AWESOME bbq sauce and have no idea exactly how I got there. will just start with this recipe again next time. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING and super simple to make! After trying this I will never go back to store bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great sauce. I didn't have any Worcheshire sauce, so I threw in a dash of A1 instead. It had a little more bite than I'd like, so I added a couple tablespoons of applesauce and the result was perfection. I'll definitely double (or triple) the recipe in the future so I can apply it more liberally. I slow cooked a brisket in diluted sauce then topped with more sauce and it was amazing. Can't wait to barbeque with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent sauce! The only thing I changed was to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp -my husband needs to watch his salt intake and we don't like things overly salty anyway. Next time I might leave it out entirely. The kids loved it! Put it over chicken breasts in the slow cooker. Yummy!!! I will never buy barbeque sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Such a great sauce, I added this to shredded beef and made sandwiches. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce was great. I took some of the other reviewers suggestions and only used 1/2 onion and 1/2 the vinegar. I didn't have any liquid smoke, so I just added an extra tablespoon of worcestershire. I added an 1/4 extra cup of water and cut the oil by 1/2 because it was a little oily. Really good sauce tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
this is really spicy but good. if you make it for kids to eat too omit the cayenne. i made two batches ( small) of this and its good with or without the cayenne pepper. a nice change not my favorite but good for a new taste on your bbq. i used kens carnitas i had leftover to make bbq sandwiches with this and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I also doubled the recipe so I could have sauce for turkey meatballs later in the week. I poured the sauce over a large pkg of chicken drumettes and baked in the oven until the chicken was done. I did not add the 1/4 cup vegetable oil to the sauce and didn't think it needed it. I also went lighter on the vinegar as recommended by others. I used brown, spicy mustard that I had on hand. We had mashed potatoes and cole slaw with this marvelous meal. This was great Irene. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Can I give 10 stars because I would !! AMAZING !! I did 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper (kid friendly) I also added some wet garlic Diced up 1/2 an onion My husband can't stop ranting about it. Thank you so much for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's good, just be carefull with the liquid smoke, a little goes a long, long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States