Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I was throwing dinner in the crock pot before work and discovered that I did not have any BBQ sauce. I jumped on this site and saw this recipe and thought I would try. The consistency was not like I had hoped. It was too watery. I just threw all ingredients in crockpot and left. Perhaps the difference is actually cooking for 20 min on stove top first? The taste was good. My kids complained that there was too much onion in it. If I do again, I will chop onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great! I needed more barbeque sauce fast and searched for what looked like something I would like- not very sweet. Cooked this up and it was great! Will use it from now on. One thing I would change (I didn't the first time) is dice the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Yeah it was a little oily but not in a bad way, not to us at least. I liked this a lot actually. The onion really stood out. With a little cinnamon & honey addition I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing BOBEVERLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed recipe exactly as written, but I thought it was too much oil for my taste. Perhaps I didn't let it boil long enough. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I left out the cayenne entirely, since we don't like super spicy bbq, and added a few dashes of Crystal hot sauce. I replaced the 1/2 cup water with 1/2 cup coffee leftover from breakfast to add some depth and it was great. I made 1 recipe's worth and put it in the crockpot with some already cooked and shredded meat - there were about 8 helpings of meat and there wasn't nearly enough sauce. Luckily its quick and easy and cheap so I whipped up another batch to serve at the table. I poured the remainder of the pot in w/ the tupperware with the leftover meat and my lunch tomorrow is going to KICK A$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Great starter recipe. I had some bacon grease in the skillet from lunch. I sliced green onions and chopped up a clove of elephant garlic and sauteed. like another poster, i used tomato paste. and sauteed that with the onions n garlic (kinda sweated some of the liquid out...) added lemon juice, mustard, course red pepper, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, splash of vinegar and salt. unfortunately, i never measured anything so now I have an AWESOME bbq sauce and have no idea exactly how I got there. will just start with this recipe again next time. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING and super simple to make! After trying this I will never go back to store bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great sauce. I didn't have any Worcheshire sauce, so I threw in a dash of A1 instead. It had a little more bite than I'd like, so I added a couple tablespoons of applesauce and the result was perfection. I'll definitely double (or triple) the recipe in the future so I can apply it more liberally. I slow cooked a brisket in diluted sauce then topped with more sauce and it was amazing. Can't wait to barbeque with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent sauce! The only thing I changed was to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp -my husband needs to watch his salt intake and we don't like things overly salty anyway. Next time I might leave it out entirely. The kids loved it! Put it over chicken breasts in the slow cooker. Yummy!!! I will never buy barbeque sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Such a great sauce, I added this to shredded beef and made sandwiches. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States