Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Used on Slow Cooker Pulled Pork recipe (Livie's Mammy's) on this site. Wonderful! (used only a few dashes of cayenne pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent barbeque sauce. Made according to the recipe and it was tasty with a bit of heat. Mixed the sauce with leftover shredded roast beef and heated. This is a real keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I was throwing dinner in the crock pot before work and discovered that I did not have any BBQ sauce. I jumped on this site and saw this recipe and thought I would try. The consistency was not like I had hoped. It was too watery. I just threw all ingredients in crockpot and left. Perhaps the difference is actually cooking for 20 min on stove top first? The taste was good. My kids complained that there was too much onion in it. If I do again, I will chop onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great! I needed more barbeque sauce fast and searched for what looked like something I would like- not very sweet. Cooked this up and it was great! Will use it from now on. One thing I would change (I didn't the first time) is dice the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Yeah it was a little oily but not in a bad way, not to us at least. I liked this a lot actually. The onion really stood out. With a little cinnamon & honey addition I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing BOBEVERLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed recipe exactly as written, but I thought it was too much oil for my taste. Perhaps I didn't let it boil long enough. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I left out the cayenne entirely, since we don't like super spicy bbq, and added a few dashes of Crystal hot sauce. I replaced the 1/2 cup water with 1/2 cup coffee leftover from breakfast to add some depth and it was great. I made 1 recipe's worth and put it in the crockpot with some already cooked and shredded meat - there were about 8 helpings of meat and there wasn't nearly enough sauce. Luckily its quick and easy and cheap so I whipped up another batch to serve at the table. I poured the remainder of the pot in w/ the tupperware with the leftover meat and my lunch tomorrow is going to KICK A$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Great starter recipe. I had some bacon grease in the skillet from lunch. I sliced green onions and chopped up a clove of elephant garlic and sauteed. like another poster, i used tomato paste. and sauteed that with the onions n garlic (kinda sweated some of the liquid out...) added lemon juice, mustard, course red pepper, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, splash of vinegar and salt. unfortunately, i never measured anything so now I have an AWESOME bbq sauce and have no idea exactly how I got there. will just start with this recipe again next time. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING and super simple to make! After trying this I will never go back to store bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great sauce. I didn't have any Worcheshire sauce, so I threw in a dash of A1 instead. It had a little more bite than I'd like, so I added a couple tablespoons of applesauce and the result was perfection. I'll definitely double (or triple) the recipe in the future so I can apply it more liberally. I slow cooked a brisket in diluted sauce then topped with more sauce and it was amazing. Can't wait to barbeque with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States