Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have made this numerous time, we just absolutely love it...so filled with flavor!! Only difference is I add fresh mushrooms....A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! I followed some suggestions to reduce the amount of sauce and it turned out great! Pork steak is pretty cheap so I buy it often and this gives me another way to prepare it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very easy meal, super delicious. I skipped the browning stage and they still came out wonderful. Used fresh mushrooms (8 oz) since I needed to use them up. This was the first time that I have used pork "steaks" and believe it or not I have several packages of them in the freezer from when we got our whole pig last year. Didn't know what they were or what to do with them. Thanks for helping me out with this piece of meat. I did add some fingerling potatoes while the steaks cooked too. Very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this at all. The flavor was not good and there was to much juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very good! I made with 2 large bone-in pork steaks. Used one can of soup, no mushrooms, one packet of soup mix, and instead of water, I used half a can of dry sherry. Baked at 325 for 90 minutes. A fatty cut of meat but oh so tender and a very comforting meal with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is now a family favorite! Such a wonderful change from most pork chop recipes. The flavors all work really well together. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
***** This was without a doubt the best I ever made. I thought it would be the same old chops I usually made with the Cr Mushroom soup!!! Wrong... It was dynomite!!! I washed & halved new potatoes & put them in with the pork steak & did everything exactly like recipe.. Try it with the potatoes, it made the potatoes taste so great also.. My husband loves this more than any others I have made... 5 stars definitely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
My family absolutely loved this! I used bone in pork chops because it's what I had on hand and they came out so incredibly tender and juicy...I have NEVER had pork chops this good! Even my mother-in-law (who is a lap band patient and has trouble eating most meats because they are usually too dry and get stuck) could eat this with no problems and has requested that I add it to the weekly rotation. I did change a few things after reading the reviews but it's a great base recipe for just about any type of pork. Here is what I did differently: cut the mushrooms, soup, onion soup mix, and onion in half; substituted half a can of beef broth for the water; cut out the onion powder all together; after browning the steaks and removing them from the pan, I added the chopped onion and mushrooms to the pan and sauteed a few minutes in the drippings, then added the rest of the ingredients to the pan for a few more minutes, then poured it all over the pork chops and cooked the full hour and a half. They really are fork tender and super juicy! And great flavor! I will be making these again and again...in fact I'm making them tonight with mashed potatoes and the Baked Asparagus recipe from this site..yum!!! thanks so much for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great recipe base. I altered it by not using canned soup. I used leftover gravy about 2 cups.and added a cup of water. They came out so tender and juicy my husband loved them. I will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These come out super, super tender and moist. Used recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States