Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was good. Didn't really taste the seasonings, maybe I should have added more, but didn't want to overwhelm it. It was nice and tender with a lot of juice to it. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was so good! We didn't have any leftovers. We used fresh mushrooms and cooked it all in a crockpot for 7 hours on low. The meat just fell apart. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I put every thing in my slow cooker plus I added some extra seasoning. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This came out so tender and delicious. I will never make pork steaks any other way again. My family just loved it and my daughter usually isn't a pork steak fan. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
We tried this recipe tonight. I followed the ingredients, but put it in the slow cooker on low all day. It was very tender. My husband loved it, I thought it was a little too mushroomy. The gravy was really good over our homemade mashed potatos. Will try again maybe next time not using as many mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent. made some minor changes. The markets steaks were too thin, so we subbed with nice inch and a quarter thick boneless pork chops. Used a mixture of Olive oil and Sesame oil rather than vegetable oil. Julianed a medium red onion rather than chopping. Used a mixture of Balsamic vinegar and Sherry in place of the water. Used button mushrooms rather than sliced (So the wife could pick them out as she can't eat them but likes the flavor of them), didn't have any onion soup mix so used a packet of pork flavored Ramen powder mix. Also after browning the chops, Moved them into a crockpot. Sauted the onion in the same oil mixture, then transferred them to thetop of the chops, added the shrooms and the sauce mixture and cooked on high for six and a half hours. Came out extremely moist and fork tender. And the gravy was absolutely perfect. Paired with the Lemon-Butter Red Potatoes from this site. If there was ever a 10 star rateing, this would get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Until tonight, I've only had pork steaks (pork butt steaks) on the grill w/ bbq sauce. This was a nice variation. Very good flavor! Was concerned about the dish being too oniony and salty, but it turned out great. Subbed fresh shrooms for canned. There was ALOT of sauce. I served over egg noodles but it was a tad too runny (possibly due to the fresh mushrooms). Next time I plan to add a couple of potatoes (wedged) to the casserole dish to absorb some of the liquidy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Very good. Steaks were tender and had lots of flavor. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I just thought this recipe was just OK. I am not a huge fan of pork steaks due to the fat content but thought I would try this as an alternative to BBQing. The flavor was there but I just couldn't get over the fat on the meat (which , of course, I knew might be an issue). If I made this again I think I would use boneless pork chops as a leaner alternative. The meat was flavorful and fork tender, though, which is a huge plus in my book. Worth trying again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Delicious! I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. I also cooked pork chops instead of the steaks at 375 and served the gravy over white rice. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States