Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
sorry, but not too impressive. about the only way to salvage it would be to toss it out and order a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Fantastic! I've always loved pork steaks - my grandma used to bread and fry them, and as I grown-up I've always done the same. Tried this last night when I was out of bread crumbs and the pork was already thawed. The only thing I did differently was used dried onion because I didn't have a fresh one, used white wine instead of water, and added a few shakes of herbes de Provence after browning. The steaks were tender, juicy and all around succulent, and the sauce was amazing. My hubby usually suffers through pork meals because I love it, but he went crazy over this one. I served them on a bed of very lightly buttered egg noodles tossed with fresh parsley. We will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!!!!!!!! I used 8 pork chops, bone in, because that is what I had in the freezer. I followed the recipe exactly except because I had 8 pork chops I was concerned that I might not have enough gravy, so after I covered the chops with the mushroom soup mixture I poured a jar of pork gravy on top last. I baked it at 250 for 3 1/2 hours. Boy was it tender and tasty! Not runny at all, not too much gravy either, I had just enough gravy to go around and enough for leftovers tomorrow. Next time I will try the pork steak, because I prefer the dark meat it is much juicier than the white meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webberville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Ive made this recipe twice already with no changes and we love it! Its definitely staying in our families recipe box. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a really good recipe, but I have to give it 4 stars because there is WAY too much sauce. I say this even though I halved the sauce ingredients, and there was still SO much of it. I did use golden mushroom soup instead, which was very tasty. Halved the onion soup mix, water, and just used that one can of soup. I thought the package I had taken out of the freezer was pork steak, turns out it was boneless pork chops. I baked them at 400 for 35 minutes and that was just perfect. Very, very tasty... great served with mashed potatoes and green beans. Thanks, I'll make this again but drastically cut the sauce down. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
OH MY!! Was this ever a hit at my house! Husband wanted to drink the gravy with a straw. Mushrooms, onions, and gravy made him a very happy hubby!! I only had one can of mushrooms, but I was still so happy that I had everything on hand to make this! It's a great meat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Wonderful!! Whole family loved it. The lil kids, even 16 mo old, requested 2nds and 3rds. Very tender, moist, seasoned just right. And, the gravy is delicious on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was fantastic! The meat was so tender and the flavor was awesome. I took one of the other suggestions and tossed some quartered potatoes in with it. They went very well with the gravy. This will become a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was wonderful and so easy. Next time I will not add as much water because I would prefer a thicker gravy. The pork steaks I used seemed rather large, so I only used 3. I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States