Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Super! I made these in my slow cooker but eliminated the water. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Fantastic! I used a box of fresh sliced mushrooms and added a 15 oz can of beef broth instead of water. Also, I dredged the steaks in flour before browning and baked it about 2 hours. You could cut it with a fork and the gravy was wonderful on mashed potatoes. This is real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Steaks were nice and moist - gravy had good flavor. Only complaint is that there was WAY too much of it! Consider paring down - I'd probably only use one can of soup and mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Yummy! We never eat pork, because it's usually tough and tasteless. This was our first try with pork steaks. I'll never buy pork chops again! We've made this with the suggested cream of mushroom and have tried cream of celery and also with cream of broccoli. We've liked it all three ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I used boneless porkchops instead of pork steaks. First, salt and pepper both sides, then brown in 2 TBS melted butter over medium high heat for 1 minute per side or until golden. Don't peirce porkchop, use tongs to flip. Place chops into crock pot. Add rest of ingredients substituting Condensed Cream of GOLDEN mushroom soup for one of the cans called for. Also, I subbed 1/2 the amount of water called for with a little white wine and chicken broth. Cook on low for 6 hours or until chops are cooked through. So good with sauce served over chops and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingblonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Well...I couldn't find pork steaks...so I used boneless porkchops instead. I browned them in oil and butter and transfered them to my slow cooker. I added the rest of the ingredients to the pan (except the water...I used about an 1/8 cup of red wine instead) and scraped up the brown bits. Poured this over the meat and let it cook on low for several hours. I enjoyed this recipe...thanks Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I just found this recipe this morning and wanted to do something different with pork steak, so i tried this recipe and i will make it again it is wonderful and very tasty!! It is a great meal for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This was my very first time eating pork steaks, so I didn't know what to expect as far as the meat goes. But the end result was good. The pork was very tender, not quite a chop, not quite a steak. I cut the soup to 1 can & used the entire packet of onion soup mix, which resulted in an overwhelming onion flavor. Even with the soup cut in half, this made A LOT of gravy, plenty for the 4 steaks. I threw in a 1/8 c. of white wine that I had left over. I would make this again, nice every once in a while meal. Thanks Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was yummy & very tender. I will be making it again & again for sure my Husband loved it.He usually doesn't care for Pork because it can be dry. I used fresh mushrooms, added the mushrooms & onions to the pan after browning the pork. to this & added the soup, water, dry soup mix. salt & pepper. Then poured it over the pork. Next time I will use less Salt.Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was awesome with garlic mashed potatoes! My husband ate the gravy on the potatoes until it made him sick! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and I think it really helped the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States