Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was a total hit! Kids loved it, so that makes it a winner in my house. Will be making this again! I did make a slight change though...We don't like mushrooms, so I omitted them and I used cream of celery rather than the cream of mushroom soup. It was really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent gravy-smothered meal! Browned in garlic-infused olive oil (big fan), set meat aside and cooked fresh sliced mushrooms and chopped onion in the pan for 5-6 minutes, added a glug of brandy (2 to 3 TBS) and set on fire. Stirred in chicken broth in place of water, soup, dry onion soup mix and Worchestershire. Added meat and covered pan with alum foil, stuck in oven for an hour and a half. Simple, tasty, comforting - and flambe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good. I did not put it in the oven. I just added the soup, onions and mushrooms to the frypan. Covered and simmered until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe works great for either steaks or chops. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Not something I will make again, but wasnt a bad dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethpyatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinckneyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I cant tell you how often i make this, on a budget pork steaks are cheaper and with this gravy it falls apart in your fork.. love this and will use it as a staple always
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, except omitted the mushrooms as we didn't have any and added diced garlic and parsley... and this was awesome. Being from the south we grew up on this and we called it 'Smothered Porkchops'. This is always good and filling. Makes a great Sunday dinner. Served with mashed potatoes and green beans. I also used this same recipe for cut up chicken pieces and it was just as good. Be sure to brown the seasoned chicken pieces in a non-stick pan before putting it all in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful. It made my house smell so good. I sauteed sliced onions and fresh mushrooms in olive oil before adding to the crock pot with the meat. I used a 15 oz can of beef broth instead of the water. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and very tasty. Served with butter and parsley egg noodles and green beans. I can't wait to have leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
So good. So easy. I used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of onion instead of 2 mushroom. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Was disappointed....was boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States