Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. The only changes I made were: used 8 oz. fresh mushrooms and did not add Worcestershire sauce. I also added a splash of skim milk to the soup/water mixture. Delicious comfort food to warm up the house on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! I dredged the steaks in a seasoned flour, then browned. I also used baby portabellas and thick cut onion, dredged them in the same seasoned flour and browned them up in the same pan as the pork with a little oil. With the 'shrooms, onions and yummy bits and pieces in the pan, I made a gravy with the cream of mushroom, a little milk and water. Then poured it over the steaks in the crockpot. Cooked for 6 hrs and it melted in your mouth. The gravy was wonderful with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Wow! I made this in my crockpot, and admittedly, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I never do. But I used the basic stuff - the two cans of soup, no water, two packages of fresh mushrooms instead of canned, lots of garlic, the onion, the soup mix, and LOTS of worcestershire. I cooked it about 6 hours in the crockpot, and it was WONDERFUL! My fiancée keeps calling it stew instead of just steaks, which makes me think I could have probably added additional vegetables, but this was really, really good and we will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
this came out soooo tender they fell right off the bone. the best pork i have made, thank you!! i did change a few things though: because i don't care for mushrooms i used two cans of cream of chicken soup, no mushrooms on top, and a packet of onion dip mix plus chopped onion and still used water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have made this numerous time, we just absolutely love it...so filled with flavor!! Only difference is I add fresh mushrooms....A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! I followed some suggestions to reduce the amount of sauce and it turned out great! Pork steak is pretty cheap so I buy it often and this gives me another way to prepare it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very easy meal, super delicious. I skipped the browning stage and they still came out wonderful. Used fresh mushrooms (8 oz) since I needed to use them up. This was the first time that I have used pork "steaks" and believe it or not I have several packages of them in the freezer from when we got our whole pig last year. Didn't know what they were or what to do with them. Thanks for helping me out with this piece of meat. I did add some fingerling potatoes while the steaks cooked too. Very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this at all. The flavor was not good and there was to much juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very good! I made with 2 large bone-in pork steaks. Used one can of soup, no mushrooms, one packet of soup mix, and instead of water, I used half a can of dry sherry. Baked at 325 for 90 minutes. A fatty cut of meat but oh so tender and a very comforting meal with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is now a family favorite! Such a wonderful change from most pork chop recipes. The flavors all work really well together. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States